We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ION Adventure Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandhotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
258
297
199
88
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
297
199
88
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomgeothermal plantnorthern lightsspa poolgolden circleoutdoor hot poollight barhiking trailsmodern designmixed reviewsfloor to ceiling windowsunique hotelsparkling winelava fieldsrental carhot springswake up call
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 901 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the final 2 nights of our trip to Iceland and we were hoping for a luxury experience. Although there is a lot to like about this hotel, I was quite disappointed. The modern structure is not to everyone's taste but I liked it. The room was nice but quite small. Although it had a coffee machine and kettle, there were some annoying points. Only one side of the bed had a bedside table. The shower had a glass screen separating it from the bedroom, sounds interesting, but when using the bathroom during the night the light shone straight through into the bedroom. The wet room concept didn't work brilliantly and after showers, the floor of the whole bathroom was wet. Nice towels & toiletries. Our room had a nice large window, with a view away from the power station. However just outside the window there were various bits of debris and rubbish (?left by the builders). Some general grounds maintenance might be a good idea. The room brochure said that the pool/spa was only free to residents in deluxe rooms - we weren't sure if we were in a deluxe room (booked as a package through a tour specialist) or not so decided to use it anyway. There were no staff in the pool area anyway. The pool was quite nice and spacious, but not very warm. Later in our stay we were chatting to a member of staff who said this was because of a power cut and that normally it would be warmer. When we were using it several other guests came and went quite quickly because of the temperature of the water and were very disappointed. Maybe a temporary sign explaining the problem would have helped.
Dinner in the restaurant seemed slightly disorganised. We were told to book but this didn't always seem to work. The food was nice but not exceptional. The Northern Lights bar was a nice spot but could quickly get full. There was no permanent staffing of the bar, just the suggestion to ring if you wanted to be served. The staff didn't seem fully engaged, sporadically very helpful (printing off our boarding passes) and at other times quite disinterested. Check out was awkward as we had been charged for virtually the whole evening meal & drinks of another couple on top of our own bill. It took some time to sort this out. The system of signing/charging meals & drinks to rooms needs some attention.
In summary this is a good location (don't let the power station or the roads put you off) and the hotel has great potential. However the whole management approach needs some thought if it is going to live up to the luxury adventure hotel billing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is brand new hotel in Thingvellir National Park so an ideal base to explore the Golden Circle, South Coast etc. We picked up a hire car at Keflavik airport, snow tyres and 4 wheel drive are essential in winter. The direct route is closed currently, so take Route 1 to bypass Reykjavik, and then 36 East, Turn off at 360 then about 12kms to the hotel. You have to watch closely for signs.
The hotel is a delight, especially Monika and the front of desk staff. Always consult them for local weather forecasts and road conditions before travelling. Restaurant is very good with young, friendly professional staff. Menu might need more choice if you stayed longer than 3 nights. Warm comfortable bedrooms (-7C outside when we were there). Hot tub is more like a pool and great fun under the stars, beautifully warm, plus sauna

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a larger room/suite if staying for more than 2 nights
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speriamo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay here. The location is very isolated (which is probably the reason you're booking it) Points to note about the drive is that there are roads closed during the winter - so we phoned the hotel as we left the airport to check the best route there.
The rooms are lovely and clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom has a lovely selection of quality products and bathrobes in the wardrobes.
Each room has a coffee maker and kettle. The spa area is small, but the outside hot pool is amazing. We sat out there with a glass of wine. The gym is very, very small with no windows (a bit of an after thought)
Food in the restaurant is very good quality, but a very limited choice (particularly if you are staying for a few nights.
The biggest let down of this hotel was the bar area with the large windows which lacked any atmosphere during the day and evening. The furniture in there looks great, but is very uncomfortable - so you couldn't really go in to relax.
My final tip would be to take some snacks with you, particularly if you have booked any activities as the hotel is very remote and sells bar food like soup and a cheese platter but no snacks. All in all a great hotel in a very quiet location.

Room Tip: Check which roads are closed before you start driving to this hotel and take some snacks.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arraminta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best beds of our trip in Iceland. The hot pool is awesome at night under the stars. This is not a cheap place and the room is quite small if you re 3 to sleep in but staying in night at ION definitely worth it.

ION's breakfast is the best we had in Iceland.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the left side of the hotel, you ll get a view without electric plant
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ion Hotel because of a one-paragraph story in National Geographhic Traveler about great places to watch the Norhern Lights. What a disappointment. Cheaply constructed. In the first room we were assigned, half the lights did not work. There was no maintenance person, so they moved to us anouther room but the heat did not work (not great in Iceland in December), so we went to another room and the heat did not work in lthat room either. So we went back to the room with half the lights out because at least the heat worked. One has the sense that this hotel was built quickly and cheaply. Restaurant was very expensive but had good food. Nice outdoor heated sitting pool. Too bad but not a particularly good hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank 810SHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews