We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place in a magical Island!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heradsskolinn Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Majorca, Spain
1 review
“A magical place in a magical Island!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Since the first moment we steped on that house, we had a magical feeling! We were received by the owner (Sverrir, a great guy!) who gave us a warm welcome and showed us the place around. He said we would have great dreams and we actually had! We had a beatiful room with views to the lake and the volcano Hekla.
We really enjoyed our days there, we even stayed longer as expected! We had lovely meals, nice conversationes, we played the guitar in the cozy living-room/library and we saw the northern lights!!! What else can be expected?!
It was a very beautiful time which we will never forget! I deffinately recommend this hostel made with love, so anybody can foget it! We will come back, for sure..it is such a nice excuse to go back to magical Iceland and meet our friends again! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andriuxeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Andrea,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. It was our pleasure having you and Katja at our hostel. Even the northern lights were happy having you here at Laugarvatn. We look forward to welcome you guys again, hopefully as soon as possible.

Best regards from "sunny" Iceland

Sverrir Steinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    54
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
99
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Newly refurbished, which made everything very clean and new. The facilities were great, as well as the staff was very helpful. If you are searching for a place to sleep in this area, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wout_Hermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello mr.Hermans

Thank you so much for your review - we do appreciate it.

Please contact us if you are coming back to Iceland in the nearby future. We do hope our guests can find a time to visit us in the summer time as well since the nature and our surroundings are so much different then in the cold winter months. A totally new experience at the same hostel.

Warm regards from Laugarvatn

Sverrir Steinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The location is perfect between Pingvellir and Gulfoss.
The rooms are really clean, great view on the lake.
The host makes great soup and home bread, the smoked fish are so good, the breakfast is really nice too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0leParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Caroline,

Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are so happy to hear that you guys liked staying here and that you liked our food as well. In Iceland everybody loves smoked fish and therefor it is not so hard to find quality fish material around us here at Laugarvatn. We receive our fish from farmers located 5 km away from the hostel ( Utey - smokehouse ) - we think it´s the best smoked fish you get here in Iceland.

Best regards to both of you. Hope to see you here at Laugarvatn again.

Sverrir Steinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was my first time ever being to Iceland and I can't wait to go back. I would definitely recommend this place! It was gorgeous with an incredible view and the history behind the place is the most interesting of all! It was in such a perfect location; short drive to the famous Golden circle: Gulfoss and Geysir destinations. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. Must try the pie! Very clean and comfortable beds. Again, I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate it and hope to see you at our hostel again. We are lucky since our hostel is located in one of Iceland´s most beautiful areas and therefor we are aiming to live up to the location & the history of the building. We really want to make this old school building welcoming to everyone & when reading your review it makes us feel we are on the right path.

Best regards from Laugarvatn

Sverrir Steinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We would definately recommend this place. It was our most special stay in Iceland. A cosy ambiance, nice owners, wonderfull view, excellent location when visiting The golden triangle, good food, comfortabele beds. A great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 824Reneew007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel.

Your review really makes us believe we are doing something right here at Heradsskolinn hostel. The building and the history of it is so unique and so beautiful so it is a great deal of humble work we have to put in this project to make everything work as we are dreaming about.

We really want to make Heradsskolinn open and welcoming for everybody and to let the history of the building live forever.

Best regards from us at Heradsskolinn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

WOW, we loved everything about this place. It's very nicely decorated, with keeping in mind the former purpose of the building (this used to be a boarding school), which such good eye for details. We loved the very cozy atmosphere and nicely prepared dinners. The area is perfect for visiting Iceland highlights like Geysir, Gullfoss and the Thingvellir National Parc. Also, the host could not have been friendlier. He helped us picking out the perfects spots for celabrating newyears eve in Reykjavic and even dropped of my warm glove at our hostel in Reykjavic when I left it at Heradsskolin. We would love to come back in summer one day. Very highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leontine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Leontine,

Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay here and hope to see you here again in the summertime. Since we don´t want to know about our guests getting cold somewhere out there in the Icelandic winter, it was our pleasure dropping your warm gloves at your hostel in Reykjavik.

Warm regards from us here in Iceland

Sverrir Steinn & Sveinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We started our Holiday here, and it was perfect. Beautiful recently modernised building (Open August 2013). Very clean and some stunning views out of the bedroom window. The food is all authentic Icelandic fayer and was just what we wanted to experiance. Only little nag was that we couldn't turn the radiator down in our room, so it was as hot as the Spa pool down the road (Fontana, also worth a visit, hostel does a discount voucher). 100% recommendation from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Hostel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear A.D

Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel - we appreciate it. It is so nice to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay here - then we know we are on the right track. We are located near the geyser ( the geothermal area ) which heats up the building, so the water running in our radiators is extremely hot and of course if the the radiator is not working properly then it can get very hot in the room. We are truly sorry to hear that you had radiator problems while staying here - we have fixed these problems now and of course we will make up for this problem for you next time you come by here at Laugarvatn.

Warm regards from us to you both

Sverrir Steinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
97 reviews
19.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laugarvatn Hostel
Laugarvatn Hostel
#2 of 4 in Laugarvatn
77 reviews
5.9 mi away
Farmhotel Efstidalur
Farmhotel Efstidalur
#1 of 2 in Blaskogabyggd
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heradsskolinn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heradsskolinn Hostel

Property: Heradsskolinn Hostel
Address: Laugarbraut 2, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heradsskolinn Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel is a brand new hostel located at the historical Heradsskolinn at Laugarvatn Lake. It is located right at the heart of the Golden Circle nature paradise, with Thingvellir National Park, Gullfoss waterfall and Geyser close by. Laugarvatn is also known for great visibility for northern lights. We offer accommodation, cafe/bistro, tourist information and booking services. Right next door you can find the geothermal spa of Fontana and the great hiking highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Heradsskolinn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing