We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Circle Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Circle Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here on our second night in Iceland, after a complete day which included visiting the Blue Lagoon, Thingvellir National Park, Geysir and Gullfoss (The Golden Circle). We were really pleased with this place (even more after sharing a bathroom the previous night!). It was super clean and warm; the apartment was spacious and the beds were so comfortable. We arrived late in the evening and, after dropping our stuff, went to the lovely restaurant nearby which is called Lindin (highly recommended too!).
Possibly this was my best stay in Iceland, I would definitely come back to stay here, totally recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hellothisiscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    24
    7
    13
See reviews for
33
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed one night in March, we booked a three-beds apartment (paid 100€, low season). The place was clean and warm. There is no reception, it's a self-managed check-in and check-out.

The issues:
a) there were only two beds. The third "bed" was in fact a sofa. In addition to this, they forgot completely to give us sheets and duvet for the third "bed". We tried to call but no answer.

b) We forgot some food (cans and biscuits, packed and closed) in the closet in the kitchen, but they haven't even tried to contact us.

Clean and warm apartment, beautiful location, but non-existent service.

Room Tip: Be sure they provide you with three beds. Call in advance to avoid surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaikailash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had no problems finding the apartments even though it was proper white-out snow. Key code worked straight away and apartment was warm and welcoming. Great wi-fi access and right by the geo-thermal pool, with a spa that we didn't get chance to try. Had a paddle in the warm spots on the lake edge, a bit surreal with snow swirling around you! Great for access to Pingveller, Geysir and Gulfoss. You need to hire a car to get best use out of the apartments. Supermarket close by closes at 6pm and is extremely expensive, best to do a shop at the Bonus supermarket near the airport. Would love to return sometime when the snow has thawed to get the contrast and see the greenery!Go off the tourist trail to see a fantastic waterfall, Ullafoss and get right down to the shore. Fabulous place, we will be back!

Room Tip: Beds and pillows are extremely soft, not great if you have back problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pw1sb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment between Christmas and New Year for 3 nights. The apartment certainly surpassed our expectations and proved great value for money. Clean, fast wifi and all amenities needed in the kitchen to cook up a nice meal. The apartments are ideally located for all of the major attractions in the 'golden circle'. A great option for the Northern lights as the light pollution free 'Thingvellier national park' was just a 15 minute drive away (around 35-45 mins to the central section)
Some of the apartments face the lake and worth requesting a second floor for the best views.
Supermarket was a 7-10 minute walk away, Linden Restaurant (main courses starting from 3600 Krona) 5 mins walk and the Fontana Spa, offering 10% discount to those staying at Golden Circle) also 5 mins walk.
Will most certainly be returning
The only one criticism I would have is one that affected my friend, staying next to us had a broken TV (apartment 201) she called the resident staff to look while we went out for dinner and returned with the TV still broken. No note was left and no communication was provided as to why the TV had not been fixed or any explanation etc so this was a little disappointing and feedback for the owners.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor apartment with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

At first I was worry about the location of the apartment. It is right in the middle of the famous "golden circle" which most of the time, people just finish within a day. But it turns out to be perfect for us, since we split the golden circle in 2 days and the apartment was just perfect.

There was no "staff" in this apartment. You receive an email couple of weeks before you check in to tell you the code of the lock box outside of the apartment door to get the key. The apartment itself was great. We had the 2 bedroom apartments for the 5 of us. One of the bedroom were a lot bigger than the other, and the room I was sleeping in can barely fit 2 suitcases in it. The kitchen/living area was HUGE, which kinda make up for the small room. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to make dinner.

Just FYI, there was any store open in the area and only had 2 restaurants (both were closed when we were there, the staff in the hotel nearby told us about this farm like 10 mins away has REALLY good food. We took his advise and was not sorry for the drive. We even saw the northern light on our way back from the restaurant).

We loved that it was right beside the lake and we took a lot of pictures in the morning.

The only thing we didn't like was the bathroom. There were nothing to separate the shower with the rest of the bathroom so water got everywhere and we wore shoes inside the apartment so .... needless to say it was all very dirty. We tried our best to clean it up but I would really suggest some update on the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lingteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our two bedroom, spacious, clean apartment was easy to find location wise and getting into it, using their entry code system, was a breeze. The location was perfect for exploring the Golden Circle - it was an easy 15 minute drive to Geysir and another additional 15 minutes to Gullfoss waterfall. The rooms were all large - the living room had a large screen T.V. and a couch for three. The dining table sat four and there was cutlery for four and enough pots and pans to make our pasta diner and our full breakfast the next day. The small town grocery store is beside the gas station about a two minute drive away. Within a very easy walking distance was the Fontana spa,which we meant to enjoy, but jet lag got the better of us. Also within walking distance is the wonderful Lindin restaurant - gourmet food - we're talking reindeer burgers, lamb and an appetizer of goose, reindeer pate, article char and whale and delicious deserts. Back to the apartment - ours was on the second floor which meant lugging suitcases up stairs - but they do have ground floor apartments. We were there in off season so I can't comment on noise from other apartments. I have no complaints about the bathroom shower. I do recommend this apartment.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor apartment because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLBtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived on an evening, so there's always that little worry with apartments that you won't be able to get in! Thankfully that wasn't the case! Apartment meant to be for three people - loads of room. Kitchen had everything we needed, including washing up liquid, dishcloth, pots and pans. Because it's an apartment you may get left something from people before - we had sugar and shampoo, coffee filters and coffee. Masses of storage space. We wheeled the tv into the bedroom as there wax an aerial point In there too. Balcony as we were upstairs, all apartments over looked lake. Small supermarket and a petrol pump a two min drive away. My only fault was the bathroom fan seemed to be on constantly so the bathroom was cold, but shutting the bathroom door meant the rest if the flat was lovely and warm anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xteamawesomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.2 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
#2 of 2 in Laugarvatn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heradsskolinn Hostel
Heradsskolinn Hostel
#1 of 4 in Laugarvatn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Circle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Circle Apartments

Property: Golden Circle Apartments
Address: Laugarbraut 1, 3, 5, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Circle Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern apartments with beautiful lake and mountain views. Apartments located in Laugarvatn on route to Gulfoss and Geysir, 16 km from Thingvellir National Park. Each apartment has a private bathroom with shower, well-equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV. Along with personal balcony or terrace, free parking and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Golden Circle Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing