We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for right person”
Review of Klausturhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klausturhof
marietta GA
Level Contributor
636 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“good choice for right person”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed in the guest house - 5 rooms upstairs with a shower room and toilet downstairs.
Teh price was a good bargain - by south Iceland standards. My room had two (fairly uncomfortable) twin beds and a sink. I was a solo traveler so it was fine for me. Room was VERY basic, but clean. Never had to wait for toilet even though i know there were other guests.
I was worried about noise from other rooms so close but never hear anyone. Did not have black out curtains so if you are light sleeper in summer time - be prepared with a mask or such.
Nice little walking trail to top of water fall right behind the property.
Owner was helpful - although his english is a little rough.
Cafe looked and smelled nice - but did not eat there

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    56
    33
    19
See reviews for
19
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff here was extremely welcoming & friendly. The room was clean & comfortable & the food was good as well. I liked it so much I ended up staying a second night. The only thing is the walls are kind of thin. I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a rainy evening and our hire car was playing up, so it was already a difficult time. Got pretty wet unloading the car. Once in the room it was cold and very basic. We got it warmer and had a nice hot shower. The beds were good and the owner seemed nice enough, though we didn't ask much of him.
This place is no palace but was adequate for one night. We stayed in a room with our own bathroom but there are other cheaper options available.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikesandtunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I lost my jacket at this hotel and the manager was extremely unhelpful. I required a simple email confirmation that we had stayed there for my insurance and in spite of assuring me several times that he would do this, he did not. An exceptionally poor after service that would have been no effort to them, but meant a great deal to me. In terms of the guest house itself it was basic, clean, unattractive (it's more or less a hotch potch of shipping containers bolted together). There was a lovely walk up the waterfall behind the hotel, but the shoddy behaviour of the manager overshadows this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkjubaejarklaustur hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lodging in this part of Iceland can be a challenge. Thus, it's hard to be too critical given what you have to work with. Overall, the room was acceptable and clean. The room was small. This is not premium lodging. The restaurant was a positive. I really enjoyed the food. Check in times are weird. The reception desk is closed most of the day. Customer service is not a high priority - this is a true guesthouse. There is a great hike nearby that goes above the adjacent waterfall, and the place is set in a beautiful location (true for most of Iceland). Overall, and by way of comparison to the other limited options, I'd recommend the place. Also, there's a swimming pool at the school located within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this guesthouse, and this was a very disappointing experience :
- no internet : this is only available in the restaurant part, and is the slowest internetconnection that I had in the last one year, it was impossible to check emails, let alone to download my newspaper
- breakfast started at 8.00 o'oclock, but since most tourists have a lot to do, everybody was standing outside the door when it opened at 8.00 o'clock, and then a storm to the very poor buffet, the poorest that we had in our 14day tour in Island
- on top of things the staff runs the dishwasher to clean the dishes of the night before, not possible to have a quit breakfast
- the dishes that you get to use during breakfast are a little bigger than a coffeecup dish, so you can put nothing onto this dish/plate, believe this is the way of the owner to say : don't eat too much !
- the towels did not get changed after our first night
- the rooms are very very basic with thin walls inbetween, so that you can hear clearly what is happening in the neighbouring room.
One thing is for sure, I will never stay in this Guesthouse anymore, and it is far below the Icelandic average standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was way below the standard set by other hotels and guesthouses in Iceland. First, you have to realize you are actually sleeping in a shipping container. The walls are PAPER thin and you hear everything from your neighbors. Thank goodness we did not have children or noisy people next to us - otherwise there would be no sleep. The beds were old with lumpy pillows and duvets that had seen much better days (and led us to wonder about cleanliness.) The bathroom was laughable, so narrow that the toilet could not be installed against the wall and instead sat in the middle of the room with the sink in front of it and shower behind. The attached cafe did OK with the arctic char, but the accompanying salad and potatoes were utterly bland. Breakfast was downright miserly with a few sad looking lunchmeats and dry bread. This place takes in bus tours and our impression is that the owner's goal is to squeeze every krona possible out of his costs. Avoid and pay for an upgrade at another hotel, such as the Icelandair which is also in the same town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#3 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hunkubakkar
Hunkubakkar
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
5.2 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klausturhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klausturhof

Property: Klausturhof
Address: Klausturvegur, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Klausturhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klausturhof Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing