We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard upheld and delicious grub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High standard upheld and delicious grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food here is absolutely delicious, even the breakfast was outstanding. The room was clean and fresh, couldn't ask for more. Very helpful receptionist spent time informing us about things to see and do in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    244
    146
    24
    7
See reviews for
74
300
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a good experience at this hotel. The hotel itself is very dated and the rooms are quite basic. However it was very clean and warm. Good showers. The restaurant is expensive, but the food is delicious. I had a fish soup which was the best I had in Iceland (and I ate a lot of soup). Would not recommend staying here for any longer than 2 nights. We were only there for one night on our way from the Golden Circle to Jokulsarlon.

Best thing about this hotel - Northern Lights room call service. We were lucky enough on the night that we stayed to have a lot of lights, which we may have missed had it not been for the call to our room (at 10:00 pm). They run the service all throughout the night.

Room Tip: Ask reception to add you to the Northern Lights notification service - They call your room if the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night the first week of September. Rooms were nice but nothing spectacular. Restaurant is ridiculously over priced and we are eternally grateful to our glacier guide for recommending Sistrakaffe just down the street. The pool next door charged an €8 entry fee though we were assured free access. There is a fantastic, moderately strenuous hiking trail just outside the hotel. Our stay was enjoyable but I'm honestly not sure why we paid that much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Klaustur as part of our honeymoon trip. One of those corporate hotels where you can feel the lack of warmth of a corporate culture. There are plenty of staff, but just not where you want them, like on the front desk, waiting tables, or in the bar (the later being unfathomable, since half the hotel that night was in watching the football...). Some things also don't make much sense: there is an enormous roundabout out the front (why?), but means that the carpark is too far from the front door. And why no lift to the second floor?? Restaurant food is fine, but not much to the desserts. But ultimately, if you are just looking for a room for the night on the way to or from Reykjavik, it's hard to find much better in the area - rooms are big and clean, but are a bit soulless.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor, as there is no lift to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nothing exciting about this hotel - we had room on second floor - it was very brown - a real timewarp from the 70's. But all clean and warm - with some toiletries provided and a tea tray. Hot and powerful shower.
I was more than bemused to be told that in the whole hotel they only had two foam pillows (I am allergic to feathers). This seemed to be a recurrent theme in Iceland - does no-one there have feather allergies? Does everyone have only one pillow each..............
We did not eat in restaurant as no-one around to show us a menu before hand, and none on show. this was a happy accident, as we ate at the Systrakaffi and really enjoyed our meal, with good music, good service and reasonable prices - 1400ISK for chicken with chips and salad, 400 ISK for large Pepsi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Level Contributor
279 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if Icelandic air have anything to do with this hotel, but it was pretty bad. Loads of niggling issues...eg. White curtains with no black out in the land of midnight sun. Doors that open outwards. No privacy screen for rooms with windows looking out on to other rooms..so curtains closed all the time. No clue as to what channel is what on the TV. No convenient plug by the desk. Cold room. These are mostly things that could easily be out right, but all in make a poor experience. I'd try elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Icelandic Tour. Large spacious reception and lounge. Nice size bedroom with large bathroom. All well decorated. No tea making facilities, safe or fridge in bedroom. Lovely meal and well presented (although it was a group tour menu). Again disappointing that it was Pay wifi in bedrooms, but free in lounge, however not very strong signal and many people could not sign in!. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hunkubakkar
Hunkubakkar
#3 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.9 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Property: Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing