We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larges rooms, Clean and nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Reviewed August 5, 2013

During our road trip in Iceland we had saty one night in that hotel. Average rooms, clean and not too oldfashioned. Nice breakfast in that easy to find hotel. Klaustur is a very small city, there is pretty nothing to see.
Easy parking also for bus. Big groups are welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorace_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 573 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just stayed here the one night, we had two rooms. One room quite modern looking with a nice en-suite looking toward the river, the 2nd room opposite looked out across other hotel rooms, as we were on the ground floor we felt the need to keep the curtains closed in this room as people kept walking by. We drew straws for this room!!! The breakfast was probably one of the best on our trip, the usual continental Icelandic style, but plenty of choice. We arrived quite late and had an early start the next morning so did not check out Kirkjubaejarklaustur, we did take a quick 5min walk to see the eroded basalt columns ( church floor) which is close by. Best bits.... falling asleep listening to the Arctic terns by the river ( I got the long straw!!)

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main Hotel block upstairs, it felt quite pre-fab where we were.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirelass35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a disappointing hotel compared to the smaller hotels we stayed in. Firstly, breakfast is not included in the room price. In the ground floor wing, the bedroom doors open out onto the corridor and could potentially cause someone an injury if opened without warning. The wifi is chargeable at 900kr for 24 hours. In all 3 previous hotels this was free. Given that most people will be passing through for much less than 24 hours, this is not good value for money. An ok stay for one night oven there is not much choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We found Icelandair Hotel Klaustur just adequate. The rooms were functional. Our biggest complaint involved the restaurant. When we arrived at 7:30 pm they were "full", even though we saw lots of empty tables, so we had to wait until 8:30 pm to eat. That wasn't the problem. I had ordered Arctic Char and when it came, it was uneatable. The outside was barely cooked and the inside was totally raw. We tried several times to get our waiter over to talk to him about the Char, but he seemed to ignore our efforts to talk with him. My husband had finished his meal by the time he finally came. When he did come he took the food back to the kitchen. Another man brought a whole new plate of food out and the Char was perfectly cooked but by that time I wasn't hungry. The first waiter needed to be told that he should check periodically, or at least once, to see how things are with the tables he is serving. The food was expensive and the restaurant had very little charm, just one big room.
The breakfast was delicious with great Muesli with lots of condiments and heart-shaped waffles, among other things.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvcruzin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is really an excellent hotel. We received a huge suite, with living room and bedroom, a huge desk, a 50" TV, in short - a wonderful room. Service was excellent, so were breakfast and internet connection. It's definitely the best hotel in this area. Unfortunately we had to leave after one night, because we had to go east.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Icelandair Hotel Klaustur while visiting Jokulsarlon (a must-see when in Iceland) and were very pleased with the accommodations. The manager of the hotel was welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, the food was very good and the location (surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful rolling hills and near Jokulsarlon and) can't be beat! The peace and quiet was a nice break from Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahj615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we booked two rooms, one standard and one superior for our party of four. Standard was clean and functional with a small lobby area with storage space and a door to the bedroom and bathroom. Standard rooms in very functional single storey blocks one of which you need to go outsider to get to. superior was in the main hotel building much lighter and more airy in the corridor and the room a bit larger, better furnishings and a better view, Probably worth the £10 extra per day. We liked the restaurant. (very expensive like the rest of Iceland) . WE loved the walk up the hills behind the hotel. All in all a very pleasant two night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
581 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Klausturhof
Klausturhof
#7 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
177 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
232 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier View Guesthouse
Glacier View Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range: $133 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing