We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Nice”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Icelandair Hotel Klaustur while visiting Jokulsarlon (a must-see when in Iceland) and were very pleased with the accommodations. The manager of the hotel was welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, the food was very good and the location (surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful rolling hills and near Jokulsarlon and) can't be beat! The peace and quiet was a nice break from Reykjavik.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahj615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    246
    148
    24
    7
See reviews for
74
301
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we booked two rooms, one standard and one superior for our party of four. Standard was clean and functional with a small lobby area with storage space and a door to the bedroom and bathroom. Standard rooms in very functional single storey blocks one of which you need to go outsider to get to. superior was in the main hotel building much lighter and more airy in the corridor and the room a bit larger, better furnishings and a better view, Probably worth the £10 extra per day. We liked the restaurant. (very expensive like the rest of Iceland) . WE loved the walk up the hills behind the hotel. All in all a very pleasant two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, booked into the hotel by our one-on-one tour guide. Architecturally the hotel is pleasing and has a nice lobby area. The rooms are somewhat dated and worn. We will say that you don’t visit Iceland to spend time in your room – except to sleep. And the beds were very comfortable. Storage for luggage and gear here was the best we found in Iceland. Being able to tuck things away made the room feel less cramped. We called the shower here the tin can. Very small, square shower with metal floor – so it’s loud. You can hear your neighbors as soon as they turn water on. The blackout drapes weren’t as functional as in other places, but they did get the job done. If you can’t sleep with some light, bring a sleep mask. We didn’t quite enjoy the 3 am wake-up call at sunrise by the neighborhood rooster, but it was funny in its own way. There is a small community swimming pool and hotpot within walking distance. Ask the front desk for towels. The restaurant here has a nice breakfast. Dinner was overpriced and very, very underwhelming. Our food was so overcooked it most almost inedible. Service was awful too. Do yourself a favor and walk across the street to the local café for better food, better service, better environment and more budget friendly bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed two nights in Icelandair Hotel Klaustur towards the end of May. We slept well but found the hotel very average. No lift. We had the impression rooms were generally cleaned late afternoon. When we arrived late afternoon on the first day we noticed the staff were in the process of cleaning the rooms. And on the following day, when we came back after having spent the greater part of the day sightseeing, rooms close to ours were being cleaned but ours had not yet been cleaned. Would have been nice to come back to a room 'ready and waiting' instead of having to wait ourselves. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Only 1 night here but staff friendly, room was good. Since we were tired we opted to eat in the restaurant - maybe a bit pricey but we could not fault the quality (I had Arctic Char, followed by a delectable Fire & Ice dessert, basically ice cream with a hot fruit sauce). The hotel has internet access in the reception - you need a voucher from reception to key in an access code, but this is free. Only one small negative - I couldn't get the hairdryer to work (not a major disaster since I have short hair!).
The girl on reception gave us directions for a nice walk (as we wanted to enjoy the sunny evening weather) - as usual with Iceland it involved going up steep steps but the views once at the top were great.
Kirkjubaejarklaustur is a little place - there is a visitor centre near the hotel. The staff were friendly and we saw a short picture show, quite a few rock samples and they do complimentary coffee (for a small donation). On some days there is a farmer's market - not like we are used to in the UK - this is a chain selling Icelandic arts/crafts. There's a modern church with an interesting little graveyard nearby, with info on the long disappeared cloister (klaustur = cloister), and a short distance away there is an area of basalt columns known as the Church Floor (because that's what people thought it was).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieGamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here to be close to skaftafell park-60 km away. Town was very quaint. Hotel was overpriced Did not include breakfast or wifi. Very clean and comfy beds rooms were decent sized. Nice dark drapes. I wanted to check in half hour early, just got off plane that morning, exhausted. no one in parking lot felt like I was putting him out.
Nice area to read or eat your own yogurt for breakfast in atrium between hallways. No hot water pot in room. Fellow in dining room got me ice for my cooler.no where to get coffee early as gas doesn't open until 9. Everything in iceland wakes up no earlier than 9.
Nice hike near hotel up top to a waterfall. Delicious dinner place one block away. Systrakaffi.see reviews. This is a place that caters to bus groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay was fine. We were there for one night. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet. The breakfast was average. It is within walking distance of a pub which was very good. We walked to some nearby falls. It is close to the Fjardrargljufur canyon which was interesting to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#3 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hunkubakkar
Hunkubakkar
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.9 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Property: Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing