We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
UK
Level Contributor
325 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ok this is not the prettiest of hotels but to be honest as we found out on our trip many look prefab. We were warmly greeted (this continued throughout our stay). There were only a few rooms occupied and only a couple of staff on but service was prompt, helpful and friendly throughout.

We were upgraded from a standard to a superior room in the main building on the second floor. There is further accomodation on the ground floor and more in an adjacent building. I would definately recommend trying for a room on the second floor. We faced out the back of the hotel so did not have a view (see photo), the other side faces onto the mountains.

The rooms were simply furnished and clean. The bathroom was a little compact and lacked surface space (see photo).

We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was by far the best meal we had whilst in iceland. Yes it was costly but that is the same everywhere in Iceland compared to even London prices! Breakfast was good but was purely continental, no hot food.

One big let down was that we found out later that the Northern lights came out the night we stayed but we weren't made aware of it, which is a real shame as we did not manage to see them at all during our holiday.

If you are continuing the drive along the South coast you can reach Skaftafell and Jokulsarlon from here but it will be a long day. The alternative is Skaftafell hotel (please see separate review) but this hotel is far more modern with better amenities as a 3*.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NichaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    246
    148
    24
    7
See reviews for
74
301
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Desk clerk could not have been more helpful. Found us a superior room with bath. We were walk in, or short call ins. Held dinner reservations at 9pm. Dinner was excellent service and food. Breakfast buffet superior in every way. Placed our food in their cooler overnight. Very good service and quiet room. When traveling in this hard place a sweet bed and quiet room are welcomed. Kudos to IcelandAir for their hotels, if their airline were this good it would almost be perfect.

Room Tip: uperior room with bathtub is a plus after hard traveling. All rooms not have bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here two consecutive nights in May during the "low season". Personally, I loved this hotel, due to it's solitude and quiet location. The main lobby and restaurant appear to be newer than the hotel room wings, leading me to believe that the buildings were converted from a previous structure. But... the were all immaculately clean & modernized. The rooms, as stated by previous reviewers, are very nice "generic" hotel rooms. There are extremely limited services in town...so, depending on what you are looking for, this could be a positve, or negative point for travelers. For food: the hotel has a pricey restaurant, there is a Samkaup grocery store (be mindful of their business hours) a short walk away, and also an N1 petrol station. That's about it. It's a wonderful area to do some walking, in the evenings. Be sure to take the hiking trail to the top of Systrafoss, and along the upper plateau, for a sweeping view of the area. It is not to be missed!
I would definitely stay here again, and will make it my base of operations, the next time I am on the South coast. (The quaintness... and lack of town amenities might NOT be a selling point for some travelers, though.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Travelling through iceland can be long hours drives. For that reason we stayed two nights at this place. The rooms are very small and very noisy, but they are perfectly clean and have a good sleeping quality. The restaurant is expensive and there a few opportunities around where you can have better food. The service team is very kind and has a lot of good tips for trips.
There are not many hotels around that area so this is really a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeRieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolmer Green Stevenage
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is in a good location but our stay was spoilt by the incredibly thin walls between us and the next door room. Conversations could be heard quite clearly. The meal in the restaurant was fine but there was a large, excitable tour group staying which, although didn't impact on our enjoyment of the evening meal, did make breakfast time slightly fraught. Not our favourite hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halibut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, and it was a great location from which to explore Skatafell and Jökulsárlón. The room was standard for hotels in Iceland. Very plainly furnished and no carpeting, which meant we tracked black sand all over. The bed was comfortable. We made the mistake of having dinner in the hotel restaurant. The portions were TINY and the price was HUGE. Food was good, but not worth it. The breakfast buffet was included and was pretty big, so that was nice. This was the only place we stayed where WiFi was not free. But $8/24hrs wasn't terrible. Staff was not super friendly, but not rude either. Great location, so I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCarlN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A place to stop over en route around Iceland: good rooms, nice restaurant (both dinner and breakfast were quite good), free computers and wifi, a neighboring swimming pool with hot pots...
Its best feature, its reception staff. Sigrún was more than helpful with reservations for activities and accommodation for days ahead. If you are lucky she will be able to help you too.
Takk fyrir, Sigrún!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#3 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hunkubakkar
Hunkubakkar
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.9 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Property: Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing