We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Expensive Dinner Menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Expensive Dinner Menu”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, and it was a great location from which to explore Skatafell and Jökulsárlón. The room was standard for hotels in Iceland. Very plainly furnished and no carpeting, which meant we tracked black sand all over. The bed was comfortable. We made the mistake of having dinner in the hotel restaurant. The portions were TINY and the price was HUGE. Food was good, but not worth it. The breakfast buffet was included and was pretty big, so that was nice. This was the only place we stayed where WiFi was not free. But $8/24hrs wasn't terrible. Staff was not super friendly, but not rude either. Great location, so I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCarlN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    258
    157
    26
    7
See reviews for
80
315
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, España
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A place to stop over en route around Iceland: good rooms, nice restaurant (both dinner and breakfast were quite good), free computers and wifi, a neighboring swimming pool with hot pots...
Its best feature, its reception staff. Sigrún was more than helpful with reservations for activities and accommodation for days ahead. If you are lucky she will be able to help you too.
Takk fyrir, Sigrún!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterosso Al Mare
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here. The restaurant is excellent though quite expensive. Regarding the hotel rooms are quite basic. As an overall it is not bad for a few nights because of its position, but too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannali, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I gave this hotel 5 stars because I was impressed with so many things, in particular the friendliness of the staff.The Assistant Manager Steinthor gave me a friendly welcome on the day I arrived, pointed out all the local attractions and gave me a great room which I found very quiet,comfortable, exceptionally clean and it had all the amenities you would expect from a good hotel. The restaurant is excellent and serves nice local food.Very close is a really nice walk, around 90 minutes total up over the hill behind the hotel, past 2 waterfalls and a lake.There is also a swimming pool and hot tubs in the building next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a nice, updated double superior room on the second floor (no elevator). The room was bright, spacious, had good blackout curtains, tea making facilities, etc.. Breakfast was okay: groups were seated in a separate area.

Obviously, there is not a lot of choice in this area. The hotel was just fine and better than we expected. Dinner at the cafe 2 minute walk down the road (the "Sister's Cafe") was charming, informal and very good. After dinner, look for the trail that leads to the top of the waterfall with a great view over the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotels in Iceland are expensive. Period. The Icelandair hotels are no exception. The annoying thing is that many Icelandic hotels - especially those outside Reykjavik are really just motel-quality, if that. But i didn't come to Kirkjubaejarklaustur for the hotel, I came for the natural beauty all around and in that I was not disappointed.
The service was good, the room was spotless, the bed a bit on the soft side.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

After a long drive to this isolated spot, this was an excellent accommodation stop. When trip planning, we had tried to book into Vik, but were forced to continue on. This was a our first motel after leaving Reykjavik, so comfort and amenities were going to be important after long drive.

Pre-booked, but was upgraded to delightful suite! Bonus!

Restaurant served great food and were very accommodating considering how late we arrived (8.55pm). First place we ate smoked lamb!

Staff are very helpful and gave good advice on local scenic spots, although we only used the location as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
555 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
538 reviews
138.3 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#6 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
229 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier View Guesthouse
Glacier View Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Hvoll
Hostel Hvoll
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Property: Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing