We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$281
View deal
Hotels.com$290
Expedia.com$290
Travelocity$290
ZenHotels.com$289
eDreams$281
Agoda.com$302
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveler rating
110
170
75
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
170
75
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building quiet surroundings northern lights beautiful location rooms are large lamb nice dinner triple room nice stay south coast ring road stayed here for nights great restaurant golden circle basic hotel arctic char horses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 390 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020

The highlight of the hotel was the staff, all really welcoming and friendly.
However the hotel infrastructure is really bad quality, we couldn’t sleep well because of the noises coming from other rooms corridor and main door. This hotel is mainly for groups, therefore at night they drink and make noise all night.
I would not recommend this hotel if you are traveling as a family or in couple.
Rooms are ok, clean.
Food was really good but had the same set menu both nights no option a la carte.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 410arir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2019 via mobile

Strategic point to explore the region and to relax with excellent food in the evening. This place was a very good discovery. More used by groups, as under management of a travel organisation.
Very friendly staff, great breakfast, clean large rooms. Some bungalows have a very nice view.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank efCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2019

Bummed chef was sick so restaurant closed night we stayed (read it's excellent!). We stayed in room #301 with private bath. Great view. Spacious room for Iceland, free breakfast with homemade bread, and great location not far off main road to Diamond Beach and Jökulsárlón glacial lagoon!

P. S. We ate at Ststrakaffi for dinner, and liked it so much we went back next day after our morning trip to the glacier lagoon and hike around Fjaðrárgljúfur.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

Our experience was very nice. It’s nothing too fancy...but you’re in the countryside for goodness sakes! Rooms were very basic, but very clean. Good location for exploring, they have a restaurant and bar, as well as free breakfast in the morning. We stayed in a bungalow on the end. It was super quiet and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michigansnowbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

The Geirland hotel is located in the countryside, it is extremely quiet and well positioned for watching northern lights (there were clouds during my stay). The rooms in the large bungalows have a good size, but are quite basic (only a chair and a very small table), but a kettle is there and WiFi is reliable. Breakfast is served in the main building, it was OK, but a bit cramped and hectic.

Room tip: rooms in the cottages are quite small, rooms in the bungalows are larger
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews