We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel-well designed and positioned to explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Hvoll

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Hvoll
birmingham, uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hostel-well designed and positioned to explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here while driving around Iceland and had not stayed in a hostel for many years but were very impressed.

It was well designed with lots of showers/WC and large modern rooms. Everywhere was clean and the kitchen was well organised and of a decent size.

Great stop-over for discovering other parts of Iceland but do remember that the nearest shops are about 20k away so do plan ahead. Also keep your eyes pealed because it is down a gravel road.

Great night's sleep and was a lovely bonus to have a sink in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank off-and-away09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
10
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

There are not too many choices in this area so I would recommend this hostel as a comfortable and clean place to stay.It was close to the national park and after a 5 hour hike, it was great to be so close. Unfortunately, we were put in the older building and did not have a shower in our building or a sink in our room. We didn't realize that we would have to pay extra for not being members of the hotelling group and also 2,000 isk for sheets. I would agree with a previous poster that the notes around the hostel seemed a little like your mom was reminding you to do things. The outside area is remote and beautiful and very idyllic. We would stay here again based solely on the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hostel is in a separate building about 100m from the main farm building, which also contains the reception. The only time I saw the hosts (or rather, their son) was at check-in; they don't seem to care for too much contact with their guests. I had booked a "double room", which turned out to be very small, but sufficient. The walls between the rooms must be rather thin, though. The kitchens and bathrooms were clean, and the kitchen utensils were also in a good shape (for a hostel, that is). The amount of notes on the walls telling guests what to do and what not to do in the hostel was quite annoying - made me think that if the average guest is that stupid and/or careless, then this cannot be the right place for me...
The one truly positive thing about this hostel is its location: short of camping right at Skaftafell, this is about as close to Skaftafell as you get with budget accommodation. The gravel "road" leading to the hostel from the ring road was rough, but perfectly okay for Icelandic standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arhasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I'm an Icelander myself, this hostel was my base for hiking Hvannadalshnjukur, Iceland's highest peak which is in the area.

To begin with, the South Coast and the South-East of Iceland is amazing, definitely worth visiting. The Hvoll hostel pleasantly surprised me. The rooms are basic, but everything is impeccably clean and the communal area very spacious and nice. As we were in for a long day of demanding hiking we needed to eat well and all the facilities at Hvoll are great for cooking.

This is farming area so it's a bit of a drive from the nearest down to the hostel so there isn't anything around there in terms of service, meaning that you should take care of buying food before coming here. But the place is great, the highlight of my stay there was when I woke up at 5 in the morning and went outside for some fresh air. The peace and serenity were perfect and the surrounding area so beautiful. A few ducks and ducklings quacking around the house, the owner's dog coming up for a pet...it was a great moment.

In general, I would opt for camping in the Skaftafell National Park if you're in this part of the country, but if you're not up for camping I can definitely recommend Hvoll hostel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I had an excellent night's stay at Hvoll Hostel while driving through Southeast Iceland. Hvoll Hostel is situated a few kilometers off the main highway, up a dirt road that is a bit bumpy but definitely navigable with a front-wheel-drive car (at least in dry weather).

The nearest town, Kirkjubæjarklaustur, is some distance away. This is the perfect hostel choice for anyone seeking a remote night away on the edge of the Sandar without going camping. I opted for this hostel because of its central location near Skaftafell and Jökulsárlón, and also because it made for a comfortable day's drive from Reykjavík.

The premises are basic but well maintained. The property has a house, where check-in occurs and breakfast is served, and two adjacent buildings. The largest building is also the newest, and it is clear that it was built to accommodate a large number of travelers in simple but clean and comfortable fashion. The surrounding land was wide open, and I thoroughly enjoyed walking around for an hour taking in the vistas and snapping some photos.

I had a cozy room all to myself even though it could accommodate two. The room was outfitted with its own sink, and a full bathroom was just a short walk down the hallway. There was an enormous common room and large kitchen area, which was kept very clean, but there was no lounge area with sofas or chairs. A lounge area would have been very nice! Interesting tidbit: The hostel has a no-shoes policy (likely due to all the dirt and mud outside), so be prepared to leave them at the door both at check-in and again when entering the main building.

Be absolutely sure to bring all your own food items for dinner, and breakfast if you opt out of the one provided, as the nearest restaurant and market are over half an hour away. Speaking of breakfast, I opted in since I only brought dinner food. It was simple but satisfying enough to get me through lunch. Overall, I recommend staying at this amazingly situated hostel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
243 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

It had been a long time ago sinceI stayed in a hostel and I was thinking back dreadfully about the noisy rooms and bathrooms shared with many other guests. However, this hostel, about 30 kms from the town Kirkjubaejarklaustur is very isolated, very quiet and clean. The owner, living in a house next to the hostel, was very kind. Breakfast was served every morning in her house. There are facilities to cook in the hostel itself. However, we didn't have any food with us and needed to drive back to the down to go to a restaurant (the second day we just ate in another hotel nearby). That's the only negative point: you have to drive many kms to find something, but I guess that's just how it is in South-East Iceland, no matter where you stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
1.2 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
9.4 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Hvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Hvoll

Property: Hostel Hvoll
Address: Hvoll, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hostel Hvoll Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing