We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Nupar
Nearby Hotels
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur(Kirkjubaejarklaustur)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laki(Efri-Vik)
$133
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Skaftafell(Skaftafell)
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$247
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveler rating
139
294
167
68
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
294
167
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsroom facingglacier lagoonwaffle makerlava fieldslarge windowswafflesbuffet stylebathroom floorremote locationring roadlambbreadstayed nightsskaftafell national parkrooms are nicearctic char
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 691 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel. The rooms are simple, clean and large. They feature large windows that afford a great view. We were lucky enough to step out the back door and see northern lights.

The location is convenient to glacier hikes - halfway between Vik (pronounced Veek) and Hofn (pronounced Hup).

The staff is extremely nice and welcoming. The food (buffet) was good albeit expensive. But that's just the way it is in Iceland. The chef was very nice to my wife. She's a vegetarian and there wasn't a lot on the buffet for her. He went right into the kitchen and whipped up a meal for her. She was very happy.

The free wi-fi (lobby only) was a great perk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back of the property as the front faces the parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ok, so my headline is a little tongue in cheek. And for those who know the two largest Container Ports in the UK you will may be understand my reference and little Joke. And if you have read the other reviews you will have realised that essentially this is a series of prefab containers, plonked down in the middle of a lava field.

But walk inside and you have a whole different take and view.

First of all when you are inside looking out, who the heck cares what you are in. And to be fair, the experience inside is much better than I would have imagined. Greeted warmly and kindly by Arty the Manager, we were given a room at the end of the corridor - nice move, less people and therefore quieter. The room was clean and warm with a door out on to the lava field. Bathroom had all your needed. But if you don´t like showers that put water all over the floor hard luck. Beds comfy and a good nights sleep.

Dinner was a buffet and again, typical of these "out of the way hotels", left a bit to be desired, but it was all fine, plenty of it and the salmon again excellent. As was the service - a super waiter from the Czech Republic who was charming.

Breakfast and I felt out of it as I am a "big bloke" with a few excess pounds and to my horror there were all these fit young people undertaking a "Run Around Iceland". I limbered up with copious amounts of coffee, bread, ham, cheese, yogurt and sat back and thought "good luck guys".

But the best bit for me?

Well we went to bed and it was grey - just like Felixstowe from memory on a good day. But we awoke to a glorious sun rise with the sun transforming grey into sheer golden beauty.

I was so glad to be in a container in the middle of nowhere....

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor where you are less likely to get disturbed by large tour groups
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here now... food is good.. place is clean... and very quaint. A grocery is also nearby.hehehehe free wifi makes it fun too.hehehe

It seems a little old tho.. dunno if its the theme... but the place is generally great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Though I had read a lot about this hotel before our visit to Iceland, being physically there was a whole different experience that I will never forget. I liked it, I loved it and I am very sorry that I could stay only for one night due to our pre-scheduled program.

In the middle of lava fields, there is no other building around the hotel. This feeling of loneliness, quiteness is priceless and extremely impressive. The hotel is made of containers but don't get wrong: it offers all the services you expect from a hotel: spacious rooms, sound proof walls, very comfortable beds, a bathroom with full amenities and everything in the hotel is very very clean. Rooms have 2 doors: one opening to outside and the other to the corridor. Open buffet breakfast and dinner are both very rich, especially salad bar was very popular at dinner. Waffles at breakfast were delicious too. Wine list at dinner is very satisfactory. Restaurant is very spacious (accomodating more than 2-3 large tourist groups at a time). Free wi-fi is available in the lobby where there is also a small game corner for kids.

At night before sleeping and in the morning when you wake up, watching this vast empty piece of land that spreads as far as the eye can see was an unforgettable experience for me... I wholeheartedly recommend to spend at least one night at this amazing hotel once you are in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Exept traveling in a gorgious country like Iceland, spending just one night at Hotel Nupar was an experience... Never expecting such a bungalow hotel in the middle of nowhere. The rooms with large windows with a view to the large emptiness; the small stairs with wooden steps were amazing. The staff were very gently, and ready to help. The rooms, toilets were very clean.
Excellent food and open buffet breakfast were sufficient. Free wi-fi around lobby. I wish I could stay longer there. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews