We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple... elegant... kinda old tho”
Review of Fosshotel Nupar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fosshotel Nupar
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here now... food is good.. place is clean... and very quaint. A grocery is also nearby.hehehehe free wifi makes it fun too.hehehe

It seems a little old tho.. dunno if its the theme... but the place is generally great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 647 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Though I had read a lot about this hotel before our visit to Iceland, being physically there was a whole different experience that I will never forget. I liked it, I loved it and I am very sorry that I could stay only for one night due to our pre-scheduled program.

In the middle of lava fields, there is no other building around the hotel. This feeling of loneliness, quiteness is priceless and extremely impressive. The hotel is made of containers but don't get wrong: it offers all the services you expect from a hotel: spacious rooms, sound proof walls, very comfortable beds, a bathroom with full amenities and everything in the hotel is very very clean. Rooms have 2 doors: one opening to outside and the other to the corridor. Open buffet breakfast and dinner are both very rich, especially salad bar was very popular at dinner. Waffles at breakfast were delicious too. Wine list at dinner is very satisfactory. Restaurant is very spacious (accomodating more than 2-3 large tourist groups at a time). Free wi-fi is available in the lobby where there is also a small game corner for kids.

At night before sleeping and in the morning when you wake up, watching this vast empty piece of land that spreads as far as the eye can see was an unforgettable experience for me... I wholeheartedly recommend to spend at least one night at this amazing hotel once you are in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Exept traveling in a gorgious country like Iceland, spending just one night at Hotel Nupar was an experience... Never expecting such a bungalow hotel in the middle of nowhere. The rooms with large windows with a view to the large emptiness; the small stairs with wooden steps were amazing. The staff were very gently, and ready to help. The rooms, toilets were very clean.
Excellent food and open buffet breakfast were sufficient. Free wi-fi around lobby. I wish I could stay longer there. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is constructed of containers but you'd never know it once inside. It is beautifully furnished with contemporary furniture and lovely oil painting. Free wifi is only available in the lobby due to the container construction but its fast. The morning and evening buffets are very good. The hotel appears to cater to groups. Very close to hiking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Islandia Hotel was a truly different and fascinating experience. We stayed only one night (as part of a tour of Iceland - so I don't know the prices here) but would certainly come again. The whole hotel is built from shipping containers but the internal design is excellent and provides really comfortable bedrooms and interesting, coolly-designed public spaces. The staff at the Islandia were helpful and friendly and the whole experience is that of an establishment which is just a good place to be. The food is very good too. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't judge from the containery-outside... all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were here on one of the only sunny days we had. So that we could see the mountains from our room, open the windows, walk around outside was very nice. There is no where to eat, other than the buffet dinner. So you should buy groceries in Klaustur. The buffet was ISK 5800, and was very good, just not great. They have lamb, meat soup, some fish.
The hotel room itself was like most of the other hotel rooms we stayed in (other than the view), even though this is a new hotel. It was not large, but fine for sleeping. Wifi only works in the lobby area, which was surprising for a new hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is somewhat of a strange Hotel. Located literally in the middle of nowhere but close to some amazing spots and really impressive landscape there aren't a lot of choices in the area. The Hotel is basically a bunch of containers stacked together. It looks odd from outside but the inside is nice, clean and all I was expecting. It is far from being a destination Hotel, but if you want to explore the surrounding landscape it is probably the best Hotel in the region.
We traveled as a young couple and both liked the food and the stunning views there. I wouldn't stay longer than a 3-4 days, since there is just so much else to see in Iceland. We took 2 nights there and it was really a good choice.

Minor complaints:
There is only internet in the lobby (as of Summer 2013).
The shower is only separated by a curtain from the rest of the bathroom.
Our room was relatively small, not tiny, but I feel it should be larger

I would go again and recommend this Hotel to my friends

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeShouldGoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
589 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
581 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Magma Hotel
Magma Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
32 reviews
31.4 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
249 reviews
31.4 mi away
Glacier View Guesthouse
Glacier View Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Nupar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Nupar

Address: Nupar, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland (Formerly Islandia Hotel Nupar)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range: $140 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Nupar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Nupar is at highway 1 about 25 km east of Kirkjubaejarklaustur. The surroundings is known for its warm weather and spectacular views. The hotel offers friendly, good service and still atmosphere in a beautiful surrounding as Skaftafell. All of our rooms have private facilities with a shower and a beautiful view. FossHotel Nupar is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fosshotel Nupar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Nupar Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing