We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a gorgeous view”
Review of Fosshotel Nupar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Nupar
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First and foremost I think this hotel is a great stay for people who want to visit some of South Iceland's most beautiful sights. My room had a priceless view of the glacier, the lava fields, and icelandic countryside.

The room had a nice sofa/sitting area, a queen bed and was very clean. The bathroom was a very good size with a hair dryer. The beds were very comfortable but the room could have used an alarm clock.

I would recommend getting dinner at the hotel. It is buffet style but has something for everyone including lamb, fish, pork, veggies and a delicious desert spread - the chef did a great job with everything. The breakfast that was included was also very nice and included waffles, yogurt, pickled fish, oatmeal, toast and even Lysi (cod liver oil - something the other hotels did not offer but apparently is very Icelandic).

The staff was truly great. They were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to enjoy Iceland's country.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Nupar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 583 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

By now, you have probably read other reviews and you're wondering: what gives?! Some like it, others hate it...

Ok, here's the deal. It DOES look like a storage facility from the outside. Yes, it's located in a huge lava field in the middle of nowhere. But it's Iceland, what did you expect: palm trees?

But there are some pluses. The staff was very nice and helpful. The lobby is nicely decorated with cool photographs and comfy couches and candles on the coffee tables. It was a nice place to soak up the free Wifi.

The room is clean and the beds are comfortable. There was a huge tour group in the hotel the night we stayed and I did not hear a peep from the hallway. There were black out shades (which is a godsend during the midnight sun!). There WAS a blowdryer in the bathroom (a surprisingly powerful one). Don't be scared by the cold water in the shower, it takes a LONG time to warm up but once it does, it's scalding hot!

The dinner was buffet-style with many fish and meat options. There was a feta salad and a cold monkfish salad with kiwi fruit. It was a little pricey (39 Euros) but frankly, it's the only gig in town. My friend is a vegetarian and the chef made her a special meal. The breakfast was really nice and the coffee was strong and tasty.

The dining room has huge windows and you can see mountains in the distance. My one suggestion would be for the hotel to replace the banquet hall chairs with something a little more organic and attractive. Maybe something sleek from Ikea?

There is no Wifi in the room. Get used to it, it's Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed one night in this bunker. No service, no standard....just 175 Euros for a room. No thanks! There is no pictures on the walls, no hairdryers, no tv, no phones in the rooms. We booked the hotel via the hotel website which worked out fine. Anyway we did not get the information that this hotel is just very low basic standard.
The restaurant looks like a waiting area on railway stations or airports, terrible light but with a view to the lava fields around. My boyfriend wanted to order a drink around 11 p.m. but the lady behind the desk told us that the bar was closed already. If you want to get a horroble service with an extraordinary price feel free to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lars E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had low expectations on arrival due to previous reviews. The hotel looks like decent quality demountable buildings set in a lava field. However, all three of the hotels we have stayed in Iceland had rather dour exteriors but inviting interiors.

Our room, 37, was clean and simply furnished with beds, night table, small coffee table and chair, small desk and chair. There was no TV (we did not miss it), hair dryer or in room safe. The beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet with a view of grazing sheep! The room was well insulated and pleasantly heated.

The bathroom (shower) was functional. Although the shower curtain did not reach the floor, water was well contained. Dove body soap is provided, but no shampoo.

We did not eat dinner in the restaurant as we had enjoyed a wonderful late lunch at Humarhofnin in Hofn. The buffet breakfast, which was available from 07:00 was plentiful and reasonably tasty. It included skry, cereals, breads, cold cuts, cheese, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, batter for making waffles, juices and coffee/tea. The staff was continually replenishing the supplies - the breakfast room was large and busy yet the serving plates never seemed to be empty (an Indian film crew was staying there and it seemed that everyone staying at the hotel decided to eat at the same time).

Check in and out was efficient and friendly. There is free wifi in the lobby area and several couches and chairs, as well as a guest computer.

We both had a great sleep and would recommend the hotel when exploring the western Vatnajokull region. It is still some 45 km to the park, however, there are few hotels between it and Hofn.

The hotel is very easy to find. It is located on highway 1 and there are signs two km out (both directions) advising of the turn-off ahead.

Recommend for an overnight stay to explore the region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location of this hotel, beside Route 1 but away from any towns or villages, is its most memorable characteristic. Its grey boxy structure is functional, and it was disconcerting in bad weather to have nothing in view but a few sheep huddling together. The rooms, however, were very nicely laid out, with room to hang clothes and put suitcases out of sight. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower room clean and comfortable. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was well laid out and varied, albeit undermined by some bossy notes about not making sandwiches for the day ahead from the breakfast buffet unless a further payment was made by the guest.

The character of the hotel shifted wildly between the two nights of our stay. On the first, several coach parties had arrived and the hallways buzzed with chatter, each of the sofa areas filled with groups comparing photos and planning ahead. I would have worried about the noise, but they all went to bed at 10 O Clock and were silent until they buzzed around the breakfast hall. On the second night the hotel was full of families and couples, and the common areas were empty, even though the wifi and television was only to be found outside each room. The hotel seemed to lack soul without the previous evening's buzz, but the reception staff remained charming and friendly, and it was nice to be at the breakfast table without the whirlwind of the coach tour groups the next morning.

Room Tip: The disabled traveller rooms are a long way from the entrance, but are located at a quiet and peacef...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frinls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I must say there were the best I've had in Iceland. When I first saw the outside of the hotel I was quite disappointed, but the moment I saw that the room, though very small, was perfectly clean and adequately equipped, that all changed. The beds were especially comfortable.
The surroundings were amazing! You felt as if you were in the middle of nowhere. Only sheep and rocks covered in moss. I loved taking long walks in the evening, at sunset in this quiet place.
In the lobby there was free wifi and there was also a computer at your disposal. Breakfast was plentiful - I liked the fact that they even had cod oil. There was also the posibility of having dinner there (at around 30 euros). My roommate had that and she was very impressed with the service.
Lovely stay if you're visiting south of Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captain_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In french, "null part" means nowhere. While planning our trip to Iceland, my husband told us we will be staying in a hotel in the middle of nowhere called "Nupar". When were arrived and saw the architecture, my heart got heavy but surprisingly the rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable. It may not be a luxury hotel but we felt good during our stay. All the rooms had an endless view extending to nowhere with the glacier as the background. Everything in this hotel is simple but we felt good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
573 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
552 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
237 reviews
14.4 mi away
Klausturhof
Klausturhof
#7 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
177 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Nupar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Nupar

Address: Nupar, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland (Formerly Islandia Hotel Nupar)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range: $137 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Nupar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Nupar is at highway 1 about 25 km east of Kirkjubaejarklaustur. The surroundings is known for its warm weather and spectacular views. The hotel offers friendly, good service and still atmosphere in a beautiful surrounding as Skaftafell. All of our rooms have private facilities with a shower and a beautiful view. FossHotel Nupar is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fosshotel Nupar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Nupar Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing