We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy Little Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Ranked #1 of 9 Hveragerdi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Cozy Little Place!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a great place to spend a night on your way east from Reykjavik heading east. My friend and I spent a night here before heading out toward Vik, after visiting Thingviller. The room was so clean and comfortable, and affordable too. There was tea available all the time, and the breakfast was pretty decent too-- it came free with out stay, which was great. They were flexible with our arrival and departure times, and the location is on a quiet, tree-lined street. It was a perfect place to stay in "civilization" before heading out into the wilderness!

Room Tip: We chose a room with two twin beds, and it was very spacious. The beds were so comfortable. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during a roundtrip tour. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious apartment which is foreseen with a living room (including tv, many magazines & books), free wifi with a decent speed, kitchen and comfortable bedroom (with extra pillows). It's also very good isolated; a couple with a little baby was staying next to us and we were a bit afraid that we would be kept awake because of the crying, but once inside, we didn't hear a thing anymore. Outside there is also a sauna and hot tub, but we didn't try it as we were too tired and had been to the Blue Lagoon just 2 days earlier. Breakfast was ok, though not a lot of different things to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is an excellent base for south west Iceland. The apartments are lovely - clean, spacious and the heating is easily regulated! The owner is very helpful and friendly, and the food is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We saw the good reviews on trip advisor, and they are so accurate. We had an apartment, though we did also have the breakfast on the first day, to save buying things. That was good. But the apartment just has all you need. A friendly welcome, everything clean and neat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_the_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family stayed for two nights, and we really appreciated the clean, spacious holiday apartment. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but instead bought our own groceries, and made good use of the bakery down the street. The owner was very helpful with directions, etc., and my sons really enjoyed the hot tub and sauna.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Frumskogar for two nights & returned for two additional nights when our trip around Iceland was upset by the eruption of Grimsvotn.

I loved the fact that there are apartments with their own living room, kitchen, & bathroom! They are so nice & very affordable. The apartment was great, but the icing on the cake is the amazing hot tub and sauna. It was so nice to relax in the hot tub after a long day of sightseeing. My boyfriend & I really enjoyed walking around the town of Hveragerdi at night when the sun was still shining. There is a gas station/little restaurant a short walk down on the main street, which we bought icecream at and then enjoyed walking to the little park near the river. There is also a bakery in town, which we went to every day (sometimes twice a day).

This guesthouse is a gem & we loved having Hveragerdi as a home base! We were so happy to have found it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acasterlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked one of the apartment rooms for a one night stay. It was a last-minute booking, just the night before, so it nice to be able to book online via their website, whereas most B&B in Iceland's towns require email contact.

The room itself was amazingly spacious. It had a foyer, bathroom, kitchen, living area with TV and movies, and a large bedroom with a true queen size bed (not two singles pushed together). The room seemed to be geared toward long stays. And best of all, the bedroom had thick curtains on the window! We got a great night's sleep since the midnight sun was almost completely blocked out. The hotel has a hot tub and sauna, too. We put some beer in the fridge and later enjoyed it in the hot tub. Relaxing!

Breakfast was good - the standard cold cuts, toast, dairy & cereals. Worth the extra money.

We stayed in Hveragerdi because we had spent the day touring the Golden Circle and had a horseback riding tour the next morning at Eldhester. I am so glad we found Frumskogar! I looked at Hotel Eldhestar, but it was 23700 per night, compared to 18000 at Frumskogar with better facilities. (The horse tour was not worth the price either, by the way.)

My only regret is that we arrived in Hveragedi too late to explore it. It is a small town, but there is a lot to see and do. You could definitely spend a day or more here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hchaplin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.4 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
620 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ork
Hotel Ork
#2 of 3 in Hveragerdi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
613 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
61 reviews
24.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Frumskogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Frumskogar

Property: Guesthouse Frumskogar
Address: Frumskogar 3, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Frumskogar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 6 apartments and 4 rooms available , outdoor facility hot tub and steam bath , outdoor shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Frumskogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Frumskogar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing