We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Varma

Restaurant Varma
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely restaurant. It seems the hotel where it is located is lovely too. The restaurant sits by the river with beautiful views. Food and service are good.
I wish it had more windows facing the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Restaurant Varma, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review about our new restaurant. It is good to see that you liked it. This winter we will add some more windows so everybody can enjoy the view over the river and the geothermal area.

We hope you will visit us again and thank you for your visit.

Best regards
Elfa Thordar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    45
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a delicious dinner here. My husband had horse and I had lamb. Both meats were served with a beautiful medley of fresh vegetables--carrots, potatoes, zucchini, eggplant, peppers, mushrooms. The presentation was lovely, service was excellent. I had a glass of house red wine, which was good. My husband had a bottle of locally brewed pale ale, which was excellent. The flourless chocolate cake for dessert was wonderful.

The restaurant is new, open only since May, but there were no signs of start-up problems. Everything was perfect! My husband is ready to book another trip to Iceland, just to stay at Frost and Fire and eat at this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Restaurant Varma, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank so much for your lovely review about our restaurant. It is important for us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back anytime.

We wish you all the best and thank you for your visit.

Best regards
Elfa D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We ended up in this restaurant through reviews of fellow travellers on trip advisor.
What a great place! After two weeks in the north and east this feels like going back to the 21st century.
The vegetarian main was the best so far in Iceland. Fresh, original. Finally no pasta or pizza!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Restaurant Varma, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review.
It is encouraging for a new restaurant to get such a compliment.

We hope you will visit us again if you are coming back to Iceland and wish you a pleasant upcoming winter.

Elfa D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hveragerdi, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal beside the river and the hot springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is newly opened restaurant, beautifully located on a riverbank. The view is either down the river or to the hot springs in the mountain on the other side. A lot of steam comes from the hot springs, a beautiful sight. Enter the restaurant we were met by a helpful, friendly staff. The menu is made up from local raw material.
My husband had an Icelandic plate for starters. On it were a taste of at least ten specialities, beautifully arranged and tasted just as they should, I tried some and took his words for others.
For practical, personal reasons I only took the main course. A fillet of lamb accompanied by cooked root vegetables and green salad. The plate was beautifully decorated and the food cooked exactly as it suited me. Perfect

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolbrun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Restaurant Varma, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your lovely review and also informing for coming guests.
It has been nice to see that you have visited us several times and that is always the best recommendation.

Best regards
Elfa D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Varma also viewed

Hveragerdi, South Region
Hveragerdi, South Region
 
Hveragerdi, South Region
 
Hveragerdi, South Region
Hveragerdi, South Region
 

Been to Restaurant Varma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing