We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel from UK”
Review of Hotel Eldhestar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eldhestar
Ranked #2 of 9 Hveragerdi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here, even managing to glimpse the Northern Lights out of the window of our room!
Breakfast basic but fine both days, but wasn't expecting anything else. We did not eat our evening meals here just because there was more choice in nearby Hveragerði with the restaurants and great bakery there.
Staff helpfull and friendly too, with added travel advice when the weather turned extremely windy!

Room Tip: We saw the Northern lights from a room on the Stable side of the hotel... I woud assume looking Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Hotel Eldhestar. This hotel is located just a 15-20 minutes’ walk from the city centre. The area of Hveragerði is in itself well worth a visit with its strong geothermal activity close to the Hengill volcano. The hotel is closely connected to the riding center, and we joined two tours, which is highly recommended.

But this hotel should be a good place to stay for anyone wanting to explore this exciting area on Iceland, whether on horseback, on foot or otherwise.

Reception is staffed by people who are also guides on riding tours and also have other tasks at the centre. This makes it informal and pleasant. The hotel serves good food.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Steinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ikarus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Sofia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre avec vue sur les chevaux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arlette n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jag bodde i rum Frida och hade på morgonen utsikt över när hästarna drevs in från hagen- häftigt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hveragerdi hotels
0 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ork
Hotel Ork
#2 of 3 in Hveragerdi
394 reviews
0 mi away
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Guesthouse Frumskogar
#1 of 9 in Hveragerdi
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Icelands Guesthouse
Icelands Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Hveragerdi
45 reviews
0 mi away
Eldhestar
Eldhestar
#1 of 7 in Hveragerdi
116 reviews
0 mi away
Hjardarbol Guesthouse
Hjardarbol Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Hveragerdi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldhestar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldhestar

Address: 810 Hverageroi, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Price Range: $132 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eldhestar is a cozy countryside hotel with a luxurious atmosphere, featuring 37 spacious rooms, a restaurant and hot tubs. In 2015 the hotel was expanded, now offering a larger, bright dining and conference room. Then in 2016, 10 comfortable, new rooms were added. The hotel is dedicated to the Icelandic horse with colors and materials in Icelandic nature, genuine craftsmanship and old tradition inspiring the interior. Hotel Eldhestar was built with ecological techno-logy and was the first lodging in Iceland to receive the Nordic Swan Eco-label. Hotel Eldhestar is ideally situated for sightseeing in South Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eldhestar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eldhestar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing