We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tour in the wilderness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldhestar Private Day Tours

Eldhestar Private Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing tour in the wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Went on the kjölur tour - one week on horseback in the wilderness. It was amazing! Nice people, good food, fun horses and fantastic unspoiled nature. Will come back every year!! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moule82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    12
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed the location of the tours. It was beautiful.

The only small complaint that I have is that it was too wet to do the tour that I wanted, seemed like they knew it for a while, but they didn't tell me till it was not available till we arrived. would have preferred it if they emailed me a few days before so i could choose what to do. It was hard to choose on the spot.

They seemed to be very competent and good guides. The experience was beautiful. I would recommend this company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent riding and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took a combo tour with the Geysir-Gullfoss. The ride was delightful. They asked each of us our riding experience before matching us with horses although all the horses seemed to have good temperaments. When my younger son started to feel unwell they moved his horse up with our lead guide and she led his horse. This kept his gait more steady. When he continued to feel an upset stomach they replaced our lead guide and the original guide walked her horse and my son's horse back to the barn while the rest of the group continued. My son, even with his illness, looks back at this experience with extreme fondness. He had been looking forward to riding the special Icelandic horses for months so the extra attention they gave him in a bad situation was wonderful. The lunch was also very tasty and there was plenty of food. The leek soup was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unorganised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Due to weather conditions Eldhestar could not let us do the originally booked tour which was the Hot spring tour. The change in plans were fine although I think Eldhestar should have contacted us beforehand.

We made it very clear to the staff that it was my boyfriends first time riding and despite this they did not let him try out in the paddock or give him any advice before we left for the tour.

When taking of the saddle on my horse at lunch time we identified a big wound. The horse had been stressed already from the start, however, the staff ensured me that this was just her normal temperament. After seeing the wound I do not believe this story and with only minor experience from handling horses the staff should easily have seen the wound and decided not to let her go on tours until it was healed.

Our guides had average knowledge of the horses and the landscape we were riding in and there were several times that people fell of their horses, luckily no one got hurt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HannaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Daytour: the beach ride. Stormy and rainy weather which in my mind made it even better and truly Iceland. Good guide and great horse (Spòl). Riding through the water and along the stormy Atlantic ocean was truly awesome!! Highly recommend Eldhestar and I'll take a long tour the next time I visit Iceland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoooar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldhestar Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 

Been to Eldhestar Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing