We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ork
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hot Springs Hotel(Hveragerdi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hlid(Olfuss)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
92
193
86
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
193
86
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolgames roomping pongtable tennisgolden circlehot poolscold meatslarge hotelbreadschool groupsgeothermal parkschool triphot springsblue lagoonbit datedfree wifigreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 407 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of our Iceland holiday. The room was quiet and we could control the temperature of the radiator easily. While the decor is a bit dated the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Wifi was free and worked well. My only complaint about the hotel is that we could only get tepid water rather than hot which seemed odd for a geothermal town! We did not complain as we were only staying for one night so I don't know if it was a problem specific to our room.

Breakfast was included and I enjoyed what was offered, with some really tasty breads and a good fruit selection including ripe watermelon. We ate dinner at the hotel as all the restaurants in the village seemed to be closed as it was a Sunday night. The food was delicious and much better than I had expected. We couldn't have the Fish of the Day as it had sold out so we had lamb and the barley risotto both of which came with lots of vegetables.

Service was consistently friendly and the front desk staff were very helpful with where we could go for a walk in the village.

With the exception of the hot water, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlazaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Quiet, clean and comfortable and easy to locate just off route 1. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a slightly dated feel, but the room we had was large and very comfortable. The hotels restaurant has a limited choice but the food was excellent and the service first class. For those more budget concious the hotel is only short walk from great bakery and a Bonus supermarket. Breakfast was average with quit limited choice. Would I use again - yes definately. The thermally heated outdoor pool is a definate bonus (even in the rain) for soaking tied walking limbs and is free for guests

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mystic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear mystic100

Thank you for staying at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our restaurant. I will make sure that the staff will hear about your kind review.

You are correct about the location, very easy to find from route 1 and in a walking distance to other restaurants and the bakery.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say that this hotel is spectacular, but for an overnight while traveling in Iceland it is perfectly fine. The rooms are small but clean. They offer an extensive breakfast included in the price. They have a separate restaurant that was good, but a bit pricey (not unusual for Iceland). WiFi was good. The staff, btw, was excellent. Very helpful with directions, made some excellent suggestions. Dakri, the woman behind the reception desk was exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear LesPicker

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and restaurant. I will make sure that the staff and Dakri will also hear about your kind review.

Best regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on an Icelandic tour. The hotel is spacious and modern. Large reception and dinning area. The bedrooms are clean, carpeted and nicely furnished. The bathroom is large with nice bath/shower. However no tea making facilities or safe in bedroom, but there is a noisy fridge. The evening meal was superb,
one of the best on tour!. Also has outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs.
A great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear wonderfree41

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear the you liked the hotel and that dinner was superb.

We hope to welcome you to Iceland again

Best regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hotel Ork was the last stay on our tour of Iceland and, though certainly bigger than the places we had got used to, it provided a great finish. I can't comment on prices as were were there as part of a package but the hotel is very smart throughout and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. Food was very good and the bedrooms were well-appointed and comfortable. There is also a heated outdoor pool (with water slides) and hot tubs and a sauna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews