We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ork
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
356 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Solid hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say that this hotel is spectacular, but for an overnight while traveling in Iceland it is perfectly fine. The rooms are small but clean. They offer an extensive breakfast included in the price. They have a separate restaurant that was good, but a bit pricey (not unusual for Iceland). WiFi was good. The staff, btw, was excellent. Very helpful with directions, made some excellent suggestions. Dakri, the woman behind the reception desk was exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear LesPicker

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and restaurant. I will make sure that the staff and Dakri will also hear about your kind review.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    155
    72
    18
    8
See reviews for
71
147
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on an Icelandic tour. The hotel is spacious and modern. Large reception and dinning area. The bedrooms are clean, carpeted and nicely furnished. The bathroom is large with nice bath/shower. However no tea making facilities or safe in bedroom, but there is a noisy fridge. The evening meal was superb,
one of the best on tour!. Also has outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs.
A great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear wonderfree41

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear the you liked the hotel and that dinner was superb.

We hope to welcome you to Iceland again

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hotel Ork was the last stay on our tour of Iceland and, though certainly bigger than the places we had got used to, it provided a great finish. I can't comment on prices as were were there as part of a package but the hotel is very smart throughout and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. Food was very good and the bedrooms were well-appointed and comfortable. There is also a heated outdoor pool (with water slides) and hot tubs and a sauna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a great two nights at this hotel during my week in Iceland. It was much LESS rustic than the other places I stayed, and not much more expensive, so overall, I felt the value was good.

I asked for a quiet room and got one! The woman at reception gave me a room away from the elevator and away from other guests, and it was wonderful. I wasn't far from the pool, which was refreshing.

I had dinner in the restaurant on my first night, and while a little pricey (but isn't everything in Iceland?), it was extremely tasty. I had a starter salad of caprese (fresh mozzarella and tomatoes), and then a main course of fresh fish. I'd been told the fish in Iceland is excellent, and this meal proved that. It was delicious, and all elegantly presented.

This hotel is well located for long day trips out to the Golden Circle (Thingvetlir, Gulfoss and Geysir) and Jokulsarlon (which is a loooooong day trip, especially if you stop and take photos of all the amazing views and such).

All in all, Hotel Ork was a lovely resting place for me in a week of otherwise wild/rustic adventures.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenKate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here twice on our trip. We had the pool and hot tubs to ourselves on both occasions despite Geography field trips staying. The male receptionist was friendly. We had a triple room overlooking the golf course, one of the bigger rooms on our trip. A little dated but we liked it here. The only Hotel with free wifi in the rooms, good enough for three of us to use at the same time. Breakfast was typically what we encountered at most Hotels, bread, cucumber, dried fruits, cheese and pickled fish, coffee, fruit juices. You can see geothermal activity all around this area ( and smell it). exciting! The town is limited for restaurants so I'm afraid it was bread and cheese for us with dried fruit that we brought with us. Would recommend this hotel, but not the fish!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelass35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very average hotel that looks kind of old. Fridge in the room is very noisy. Restaurant looks uninviting. Service staff is OK. Location is good, you can visit the geothermal pools, the hot river and several restaurants. Wifi is free and works well.
As it rained so much while we were there we went one day to museums at Reykjavik which is less than an hour drive away. You can also visit the Blue Lagoon from here, it is about an hour drive.
Swimming pool is fun for kids as it has a tobogan.
Breakfast was limited in options, not very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the most, um, basic hotel we stayed at during our trip to Iceland. The rooms felt dated and sort of sad but were very clean.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was okay, not wonderful like we had elsewhere. The breakfast was pretty good, again not quite as good as other hotels but no problems.

I will say my room had excellent black-out curtains :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.6 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ork

Property: Hotel Ork
Address: Breidamoerk 1, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ork 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Örk is a first class hotel located in the hot spring capital of Iceland, Hveragerdi. The hotel has 85 rooms with good amenities. At the hotel there is an outdoor swimming pool, two hot tubs and a geo thermal sauna. We also have a beauty parlour, a pool table and a ping pong table. HVER Restaurant is a newly opened restaurant at Hotel Örk that offers a la carte menu with delicious courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ork Hotel Hveragerdi
Hotel Ork Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing