We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ork
Nearby Hotels
Eldhestar(Hveragerdi)(Great Value!)
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$282
$177
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eldhestar(Hveragerdi)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hot Springs Hostel(Hveragerdi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guesthouse Inga(Hveragerdi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
SKYR Guesthouse(Hveragerdi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Backyard Village(Hveragerdi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
92
193
86
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
193
86
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolgames roomping pongtable tennisgolden circlehot poolscold meatslarge hotelbreadschool groupsgeothermal parkschool triphot springsblue lagoonbit datedfree wifigreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 407 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Room is standard but clean. Lift broke down and I stay on 4th floor but the receptionist did help with luggages fortunately. However, please AVOID the restaurant if you are not eating in big group as the waitresses would only look at big group tables and completely ignore you or treat you as totally transparent if you are not part of any big group. I had to wave non-stop for 5 mins before I was served just for hot water for my tea. Then when I wanted to ask for my bill, I had to keep waving for almost another 5 mins but was completely ignored when two waitresses went to a big table to serve them. Inevitably, I took the opportunity to ask for my bill but was snubbed at by one of the waitresses indicating that she was serving the big group. The setting of the restaurant seems to be upmarket but food is no big surprise given the price tag especially with the appalling services. I stayed at Hotel Ranga prior to Hotel Ork and the services was immaculate in all respects, of course that includes the restaurant and the price and service was worth the value.

Daisy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Daisy L

I am sorry to hear about the service you recieved at our restaurant. It is of course not according to our standards as you can read about here in other reviews. We will make sure that this does not happen again.

Best regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ork for one night whilst touring Iceland. It is a fair size and has 4 floors serviced by a lift. Check in was quick & efficient and the presence of a supermarket just across the road was a bonus. Our room No 418 was a good size with the usual standard furnishings, desk, chair, tv etc. We were disappointed at the lack of tea & coffee making facilities but it was no big deal.

Dinner was very good with a soup starter, Chicken ,mash & veg followed by Pannacotta and coffee. The service was excellent. Breakfast was the usual buffet of cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit juices etc etc. but there was no hot dish available.

There was also a free internet point near reception. The hotel is a comfortable enough place and like so many Icelandic hotels it is functional rather than offering luxury. I don't have a problem with this in that it met all our requirements.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Dave

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you like our restaurant and the service. We always try our best to serve our guests.

Warm regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We only stayed for one night and arrived too late to try all the hotel's facilities. The bedroom was a good size, clean and we got a good night's sleep. The pool and hot tubs looked inviting, even though it was just above zero outside. Excellent views from the dining area for breakfast. Breakfast itself wasn't memorable though acceptable. Like a previous reviewer I liked the offer to be woken if the night manager spotted that the Northern Lights were visible. Good location if you want a base outside of Reykjavik for touring the main sites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Belgarum

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel. You mentioned that the hot tubs and the swimming pool looked inviting even though it wast just above zero. We find the hot tubs more inviting the colder the weather. It is a great feeling to soak in the hot tub in the evening looking at the stars (and hopefully the northern lights) and the colder it is the better :-).

We hope to see you again in Iceland and perhaps next time you will be able to try some more of our facilities

Warm regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. The staff are friendly and the services are up to expectations. Everybody in this hotel as well as the town are friendly and keen to help. Nearby are many attractions not to be missed.

Room Tip: Don't miss the wake up calls for the northern lights :)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alkhatnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good value stay, booked through hotel website and got better deal than booking sites.
Clean, had good view and helpful night porter would contact you if Northern Lights visible, We were lucky to see them one night.
Breakfast good often only people in dining room as party of elderly Icelanders in Hotel who got up late.
Had dinner one night nice meal and attentive service but was a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for view to see Lights and we were given one overlooking hills
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews