We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly staff, modern and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, friendly staff, modern and comfortable room”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Frost and Fire was a fantastic place to stay. We stayed for one evening and used it as a home base from which to explore other places in the Golden Circle. The river behind the rooms was beautiful and we enjoyed the geothermal hot tubs after dinner. We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner but the menu looked delicious with lots of local options and at a comparable price to other local places. Breakfast on their porch in the sunshine could not have been better. Options were both hot and cold with a good number of choices. The room was clean and very modern and the staff was extremely friendly. We would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms separate from the main building are slightly more private and seem newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwarren912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review.

It is good to hear that you liked your stay and recommend it to others, we could not ask for more.
You are right about the rooms, the small houses in the upper area are newer than the lower ones, but they are also really nice and are being renovated this winter.

We wish you all the best and thank you for your visit. Hopefully we will see you again here in Hveragerði one day.

Best regards
Elfa D. þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    166
    48
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
359
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and really enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. Our room had a great view of the river (I think all of the rooms do), and really easy access to trails that lead up into the hills beyond the village. The food was great also, really good breakfast included with the room and the dinner we had there was good also (order the salted cod or bacalao, that was incredible). The only minor knocks which I think were unique to our room (it was part of the main lodge structure, most of the rooms are in a separate structure) was that access was a bit awkward with luggage due to a large concrete wall partly blocking the corridor that accessed the room and there was nowhere to plug in the hot water kettle in the room. All in all though, a great stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctcharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review and your comments about our staff, it is really important for all of us. It is good to see that you liked you stay.

We will have to remove that concrete wall as soon as possible, it was supposed to stop the wind, but unfortunately it also stops the suitcases..

We wish you all the best and hope you will visit us again one day.

Best regards from Frost and Fire.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Arrived here late on a midsummer night, but friendly staff were happy to check us in and show us around. The room was tastefully designed and what a view! Direct into the steaming geothermal landscape with a calming clear river running past. The pool, hot tubs and steam room are gorgeous - and you could happily spend a day here without leaving the premises. Also 10 minute walk along the river to the fantastic local swimming pool. Breakfasts are the best we experienced in Iceland with fresh, healthy produce.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your lovely review. It is extremely important to all of us.
We try to provide well being in everything we have to offer, healthy and good quality food, relaxation and quietness and a unique experience. Our aim is not only to provide a good accommodation, but also a memorable visit to nature wonder.

Hopefully you will visit us again.
Best regards from all of us at F&F
Elfa D. þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first hotel arriving in Iceland. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner was amazing, superb fish soup, and perfect lobster. Room was good, very clean and great view on the hills where steam escapes from several holes in the ground. Even had a swim in the small river next to the hotel after the steam room (of course from natural sources). A small but nice thing: boiling an egg for breakfast you can do yourself, outside the hotel, all natural again (wont tell you exactly how :-) ). Again amazing stay, great staff!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank robertmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind review.
It is good to hear that you liked your stay here and that you even tried our most natural facility, the river ! It is just lovely to swim in it.

We hope it was a memorable stay and you that you will visit us again one day.

Best regards from Frost and fire
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived very late for check-in (well after midnight) as our plane arrived late and the journey from Reykjavik airport to Frost & Fire was approx 1.5hrs by car, but we were welcomed with a lovely smile and immediately shown to our room. A delightful twin room with private bathroom. Being in Iceland even at that time it was still very light so we were able to see the stunning view from our balcony over the river and lava mountains and a number of small theothermal steam vents dotted all around. Our room was also just a few paces away from two thermal outdoor pools. The room was very comfortable with ample storage space and a settee - the balcony also had a table and chairs, and internet connection was there immediately. Breakfast was included in our package and we were invited to boil our eggs ourselves outside in one of the open small geysers. There was plenty choice for breakfast including delicious homebaked bread and jam. The terrain around there was extremely rough - catering more for walkers and backpackers so good walking shoes are important. A car is also a must unless you prefer to stay there as a retreat and avail of the peace and tranquility. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating making our stay there a very pleasant and memorable first time impression of Icelandic hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your very friendly review, it is really important to us all.

We hope you will visit us again soon and hope you had a pleasant vacation in Iceland

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived to the Frost and Fire Guest House at almost 1am the night we arrived in Iceland. The receptionist was awake to welcome us and even took the time to show us the geothermal sauna. We enjoyed a nice dip in the warm geothermal pool before heading to bed in our spacious room. Breakfast was simple and delicious. We were at Frost and Fire Guest House very briefly but we enjoyed this idyllic little gem at the bend in the river! A great introduction to Icelandic hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali-KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you your visit and your kind review, that means a lot to us.
It is good to see that you could enjoy the tranquility and the nature at our outside facilities.

We hope you will visit us again one day and wish you a pleasant upcoming winter.

Best regards
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a trip around Iceland. Our room had a balcony looking out over a stream that runs through a geothermal valley. On the hillside across the stream we could see steam vents.

The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was good. Everything was clean. I found the swimming pool to be too hot for comfort, but the hot tub was lovely for a relaxing end to the day. And they provide robes, so if the air is cool when you get out of the hot tub, you have something to put on.

Breakfast was good, with bread baked in a geothermal bakery. The closest description I can think of is "Boston brown bread." It was lovely slathered with butter! We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant, too.

If we ever return to Iceland, we'll definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. The swimming pool is heated by steam so sometimes it can be more like a big hot tub.
The brown bread "Rúgbrauð" is cooked in our natural hot spring for 12 HRS overnight and is as you say delicious when it is steaming new with butter.
We hope you will visit us again soon and wish you a pleasant winter.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
8.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
603 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
769 reviews
24.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Property: Frost and Fire Hotel
Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing