We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel in Iceland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel in Iceland!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Tucked away in a riverside location at the edge of town, this is a real find. We stayed in room 6, which has a large thermal pool right outside the door. There’s also a hot tub right beside the river and a rather sulphurous natural steam room. Bathrobes are provided for guests – bring some pool shoes, though, to negotiate the (possibly snow-covered) stone steps. The breakfast was fantastic, lots to choose from including bread baked using the heat from the thermal springs and you can even boil your breakfast egg in the spring using a kind of fishing net – our son loved this! Dinner isn’t served but we had surprisingly good pizza from the pizzeria a short drive away. The staff are friendly and helpful and free wifi is provided.

Our only criticisms – the en suite shower room is on the tiny side, although the shower is good and powerful, and there is nowhere to hang wet swimming clothes.

Room Tip: Room 6 is spacious and has a thermal pool on the doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for such a lovely review and also to point out the things that we can do better. It is essential for us that we get the chance to hear what can be improved here.
We also thank our nice staff which always to their very best to welcome the guests.

Thank you again and hopefully you will visit us again.

Best regards from F&F
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    169
    51
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
367
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Clean guesthouse with welcoming staff. We loved that our room faced the quiet and pretty river. Breakfast was excellent too. Make sure and take advantage of cooking your own egg in the hot spring outside. Also close to many adventures in the area including the hot river you can hike to and swim in (ask he gals at the hotel--they will direct you there).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review and some helpful advice to future guests.

We hope you will come back to Frost and Fire Hotel one day.

Best regards from Hveragerði

Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights as part of a group and everyone really enjoyed their stay at Frost and Fire. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, the food was really excellent (nice breakfast and fantastic evening meals) and the rooms were well decorated and comfortable. There were some nice touches like the bamboo sticks with nets to cook eggs in the hot springs, bath robes to allow you to get to the hot tubs in comfort and reasonably priced bar. The location is good and overall, I can highly recommend a stay at Frost and Fire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingForAHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your nice review about Frost&Fire Hotel and especially about our lovely staff.
It was nice to have your group here and we hope you will come again one day.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights at the very end of October and loved it. We had a double ensuite room in the main building. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The bed was large and very comfy. We had a great view out to the river and windows out of the roof to spot the northern lights. The bathroom was small but very functional. Breakfast every morning was a treat and we enjoyed boiling eggs in the hot spring outside. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. While we were there the weather was very cold and incredibly windy, however, we stayed warm and snug in our room with a radiator we could regulate the heat from ourselves. We also tried out the outdoor hot tub and steam room. We'd definitely recommend doing that as although it is very cold outside the hot tub is warm enough to sit in with a swim suit and woolly hat, which makes the trip rather special. The guest house supplies towelling dressing gowns which were perfect for wearing to the hot tub.

Room Tip: Choose an ensuite room in the main building, it is attached to the breakfast room so you don't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinesnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guests.

Thank you so much for your nice review.
It is nice to see that you were feeling comfortable at our Hotel even in this bad weather we had while you were staying here. Fortunately we have enough geothermal warmth here along with a very nice staff to welcome our guests.

Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself & partner arrived back from our first visit to Iceland today and we were blown away by the place. We stayed five nights at Frost & Fire Guesthouse and are so glad that we did. 

We picked up a 4x4 from Thrifty Car rental at the airport and headed for Hvergeroi, the location of Frost & Fire is perfect, it's surrounded by pockets of geothermal vents and so peaceful. We did trips to Reykjavik and various other towns and can honestly say that they didn't compare! 

The staff were so lovely and each day prepared a continental breakfast, on our last morning they left out a few bits for us to eat before our very early flight. The rooms were cleaned and spotless each day. 

It was a quick walk to the local supermarket and restaurants, our personal favourite was a pizzeria named Hofland (opposite cafe Rose). There is also an alcohol Store, although buy at Airport duty free as it is cheaper, and the wine shop is only open for a few hours a day. 

Lastly I have to mention the hot tubs, they were warm and such a fun part to the evenings. There's is also a heated swimming pool which is a lovely extra. 

All round brilliant trip made even better by this Guest house.

Room Tip: Room 6 didn't have the view but was pretty sound proof and cozy with more room than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to read that we could add some good memories to your stay in Iceland.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the first place we stayed and Iceland and it set the bar high. The location is very nice with great hot tubs to sit in and enjoy the views. Only complaint was the skylight in the room was a little annoying as it only got dark for a few hours when we were visiting. Breakfast was very good, second best on our trip with a very nice setup.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are now having special curtains made for the ceiling windows which will be set up before we get the summer nights again. This winter it won´t be a problem since the sun will hardly get above the horizon for a couple of months. And then it can be nice to watch the northern lights through the windows just from the bed.

We hope to see you again here at Frost and Fire

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa Thordar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We came back to Iceland for our first anniversary, having honeymooned here last year. We wanted to travel more, so booked Frost and Fire for our first two nights.

What a great decision. Despite very rainy first night we were welcomed into a wonderfully warm and friendly guesthouse. We got the tour and were shown to a beautiful room with easy access to all of the hotel's geothermal heated areas.

Both nights we walked into the town, had a simple but tasty meal at cafe Rose, and returned for a soak in the hot tub before bed.

We had a refreshing swim before breakfast on the first morning, went off for the day, and then repeated the whole experience again but with the rain of the first night replaced by beautiful aurora displays.

Genuinely didn't want to leave.

Any downsides? Only that our room (right above the steam room) was perhaps 1 or 2 degrees too warm, but this was easily countered by opening the patio door an inch or so.

Gorgeous hotel, friendly and helpful staff, stunning location and very reasonably priced.

We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naimiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on your first anniversary.

We are delighted to see that you have experienced everything that Frost and Fire has to offer.
This winter the northern light are supposed to shine brightly and we are always praying for a clear sky so that all of our guests will be able to experience to see them perhaps along with a shooting star for a bonus.

We are grateful for our lovely staff at Frost and Fire. They really put their heart into their work.

Until the next time, very best regards from Hveragerði

Elfa Thordar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
209 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
787 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Property: Frost and Fire Hotel
Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing