We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights as part of a group and everyone really enjoyed their stay at Frost and Fire. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, the food was really excellent (nice breakfast and fantastic evening meals) and the rooms were well decorated and comfortable. There were some nice touches like the bamboo sticks with nets to cook eggs in the hot springs, bath robes to allow you to get to the hot tubs in comfort and reasonably priced bar. The location is good and overall, I can highly recommend a stay at Frost and Fire.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingForAHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your nice review about Frost&Fire Hotel and especially about our lovely staff.
It was nice to have your group here and we hope you will come again one day.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 671 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights at the very end of October and loved it. We had a double ensuite room in the main building. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The bed was large and very comfy. We had a great view out to the river and windows out of the roof to spot the northern lights. The bathroom was small but very functional. Breakfast every morning was a treat and we enjoyed boiling eggs in the hot spring outside. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. While we were there the weather was very cold and incredibly windy, however, we stayed warm and snug in our room with a radiator we could regulate the heat from ourselves. We also tried out the outdoor hot tub and steam room. We'd definitely recommend doing that as although it is very cold outside the hot tub is warm enough to sit in with a swim suit and woolly hat, which makes the trip rather special. The guest house supplies towelling dressing gowns which were perfect for wearing to the hot tub.

Room Tip: Choose an ensuite room in the main building, it is attached to the breakfast room so you don't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinesnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guests.

Thank you so much for your nice review.
It is nice to see that you were feeling comfortable at our Hotel even in this bad weather we had while you were staying here. Fortunately we have enough geothermal warmth here along with a very nice staff to welcome our guests.

Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself & partner arrived back from our first visit to Iceland today and we were blown away by the place. We stayed five nights at Frost & Fire Guesthouse and are so glad that we did. 

We picked up a 4x4 from Thrifty Car rental at the airport and headed for Hvergeroi, the location of Frost & Fire is perfect, it's surrounded by pockets of geothermal vents and so peaceful. We did trips to Reykjavik and various other towns and can honestly say that they didn't compare! 

The staff were so lovely and each day prepared a continental breakfast, on our last morning they left out a few bits for us to eat before our very early flight. The rooms were cleaned and spotless each day. 

It was a quick walk to the local supermarket and restaurants, our personal favourite was a pizzeria named Hofland (opposite cafe Rose). There is also an alcohol Store, although buy at Airport duty free as it is cheaper, and the wine shop is only open for a few hours a day. 

Lastly I have to mention the hot tubs, they were warm and such a fun part to the evenings. There's is also a heated swimming pool which is a lovely extra. 

All round brilliant trip made even better by this Guest house.

Room Tip: Room 6 didn't have the view but was pretty sound proof and cozy with more room than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to read that we could add some good memories to your stay in Iceland.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the first place we stayed and Iceland and it set the bar high. The location is very nice with great hot tubs to sit in and enjoy the views. Only complaint was the skylight in the room was a little annoying as it only got dark for a few hours when we were visiting. Breakfast was very good, second best on our trip with a very nice setup.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We are now having special curtains made for the ceiling windows which will be set up before we get the summer nights again. This winter it won´t be a problem since the sun will hardly get above the horizon for a couple of months. And then it can be nice to watch the northern lights through the windows just from the bed.

We hope to see you again here at Frost and Fire

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa Thordar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We came back to Iceland for our first anniversary, having honeymooned here last year. We wanted to travel more, so booked Frost and Fire for our first two nights.

What a great decision. Despite very rainy first night we were welcomed into a wonderfully warm and friendly guesthouse. We got the tour and were shown to a beautiful room with easy access to all of the hotel's geothermal heated areas.

Both nights we walked into the town, had a simple but tasty meal at cafe Rose, and returned for a soak in the hot tub before bed.

We had a refreshing swim before breakfast on the first morning, went off for the day, and then repeated the whole experience again but with the rain of the first night replaced by beautiful aurora displays.

Genuinely didn't want to leave.

Any downsides? Only that our room (right above the steam room) was perhaps 1 or 2 degrees too warm, but this was easily countered by opening the patio door an inch or so.

Gorgeous hotel, friendly and helpful staff, stunning location and very reasonably priced.

We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naimiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on your first anniversary.

We are delighted to see that you have experienced everything that Frost and Fire has to offer.
This winter the northern light are supposed to shine brightly and we are always praying for a clear sky so that all of our guests will be able to experience to see them perhaps along with a shooting star for a bonus.

We are grateful for our lovely staff at Frost and Fire. They really put their heart into their work.

Until the next time, very best regards from Hveragerði

Elfa Thordar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location on a beautiful,river, clean and stylish rooms with art from local artists on walls, no frills but clean, and very comfortable beds. At end of a long day of hiking we went from a hot tub, to a really hot tub, to a geothermally heated steam bath to a swim in the cold, clear river adjacent to the hot tubs. Then we poured ourselves into bed and slept with the sound of the river in the background and woke to the smell of coffee in the kitchen. Heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

It is always such a pleasure to see when our guests enjoy every thing that our place has to offer. That is just our aim to give people the chance to really feel the Icelandic nature, even from their hotel room.

Thank you for your review and if you will come back next summer you will probably be able to have some mud baths here as well when you have finished the river swim if we will finish them in time for next season.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa Thordar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Was there with a group for a conference. It was a small group og twenty persons and we ahd the place for our selvs which was perfect. Everybody was very happy about the location, service, rooms and the weather was perfect. Many of the participants would want to come again to have more time to enjoy the nature go for a hike and travel on the south coast.
We enjoyed the swimmingpool in Hveragerdi and of course the pools at Frost and Funi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigrtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It is really important for us and inspiring to do even better here at Frost and Fire.

Greetings from Hveragerði
Elfa Thordar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
23.2 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
19 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
242 reviews
24.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
24.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range: $182 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing