We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, hidden, isolated…A gem.”
Review of Youth Hostel Husey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egilsstadir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Husey
Reviewed August 27, 2013

You will have to travel on gravel for a quite some time to reach this gracious place. This hostel is located in Husey where habitation is scarce except the farm and the visitors to the hostel. There is wi-fi (surprisingly) at the reception. The rooms are well appointed and warm. Hot water is available but water pressure is week. There are histories all over the hostel. Especially, I liked reading how hostel staffs raised abandoned baby seals. Many come here to find seals. You will have to carry sticks when you go and search for seals because there are angry birds flying above your head who can give nasty blow on your head. Staffs are well informed and ready to help you in anyway. If it wasn’t for the fixated schedule of my travelling, I would have stayed here for several days and enjoyed the isolation from modern world. Youth Hostel Husey is a smart choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sangthehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Youth Hostel Husey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Imagine yourself driving on a road settled between two mountains, horses everywhere, your favorite song on the radio, riding towards the sea. 40 minutes of enchantment later, there's a gate, letting you know that you arrived in Husey, constisting in two houses and a barn. Immediately, you feel welcomed. Like stumbling on a oasis. A cat greets you, and you enter in this lovely guest house, where every thing you look at is touching, from the color of the walls to every picture frame, piece of furniture, even the cups... It's a photographer's paradise and an invitation to sit back and relax. There's nothing else to do anyway. Everything is clean, the hosts are great... I've been happy in this place and I cannot recommend you enough to try it if you like the quietness of remote places.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a great time here. When we arrived at Husey the weather was pretty bad so we ended up getting the whole hostel to ourselves. A definite plus. The road out there is pretty long and in gravel but that's the price you pay to get to the end of the earth.

Oh yeah, ride the horses, it's totally worth it!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

26th May 2007: minus two centigrades a fierce wind blowing and it was starting to snow. This was our first impression of Husey after slowly travelling 30 km along a gravel road to reach it.
Husey is a farm and we had planned having a horse riding tour there but were kinda worried. reassurance came from the young girl that showed us our room: we have no problems and the horses neither... so that was it, meeting point at 4pm at the barn, and we were happy we braved the weather.
The horses are sweet tempered and warm, and the place is lovely: a two-storied blue house in the middle of nowhere between two rivers. Squeaking wooden floors, a small blue walled bedroom, so cosy.
We were lucky to be there out of season, we were the only guests (I can just imagine how less romantic and comfy the place is when it's chock full).
There's a big well equipped kitchen, several clean bathrooms (the owner has just added an extension to the house with more rooms and bathroom which although so new doesn't have the same feel of the other parts of the house).
The general feel we had of the place was the incarnation of the "shabby chic" kind of style that we personally love.
The owner is also so nice chatting a little with us, showing us around the barn (we gave milk with a bottle to a one day old ewe!).
Extra bonus was the great breakfast (an icelandic feast with homemade rubharb marmalade and smoked trout) and the opportunity to buy fresh eggs from the farm (since the nearest town is so far you have to self cater for lunch/dinner when you're there).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pinkladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank O3695TLmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank crosbyc572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank kraemer1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.0 mi away
Laugarfell Accommodation & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Obyggdasetur Islands - Wilderness Center
0.0 mi away
Hofn Hostel
Hofn Hostel
#17 of 19 in Hofn
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
#1 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hia Marlin
Hia Marlin
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Husey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Husey

Address: Hroarstunga, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Egilsstadir
Price Range: $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing