We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great choice for location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Eglisstadir is a small town. This hotel has nice, clean, and spacious room. Bed was a little soft. We had dinner and breakfast here. Both were very good. We stayed here 1 night as part of our drive around Iceland. This was one of the better hotel that we had stayed in during the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    157
    38
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
161
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was big with a lot of space. Unfortunarely there was no bathtub in the bathroom. We had dinner and the food was very good. The service was above average with very attentious waiters. An interesting experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dc109130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
299 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were on a tour of Iceland with Adventures Abroad. We stayed here one night. Our minimum expectation when on tour is a lift. The hotel exceeded expectations. The room was large, beds comfortable. We appreciated the free wi fi in the lobby. The staff was very pleasant - I had trouble getting online and the desk person was very helpful. Our group ate at the hotel and the food was excellent as was the breakfast buffet. They allowed us to buy our alcohol at the bar during Happy Hour and bring it to the table - a very civilized gesture as alcohol is very expensive in Iceland. The hotel is nicely located near a large supermarket where we were able to buy food for our picnic lunch the next day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telaviv
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although I think there are better accommodations available around town at Frmsmand BB the hotel isok
Small rooms ,twrrible soft mattresses,nice bathroom with good towels.
Located between two parking lots
Very good breakfast with ok service not more.
Very nice service at the reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnobenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, staff polite and helpful. Rooms ok, bed to soft and room temperature quite high. Room and bathroom clean and spacious. Free wifi in the lobby. We had a great dinner and the buffet breakfast is rich.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

On first appearances from the exterior, we were not impressed. but as soon as we entered the foyer we reAlized it was a really good hotel. Sculpture in the entrance and a great lounge area with colourful seating. Our room was clean, modern with lots of extra thoughtful features. Lights everywhere, over the mirror, wardrobe/coats area. Plenty of plugs for recharging all the phones, cameras etc. Bathroom was very new and modern, even included a shaving/makeup mirror with lights. Wonderful for a short sighted person like me. As all hotels in Iceland, the bedding was too hot for summer. Why do they put doonas on the bed for summer? Free wifi in the lounge area, Half price drinks during happy hour. Great breakfast. Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our hotel room was clean and comfortable. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was average at best. Both my wife and myself ordered the grilled lamb and it was not very tasty. Our waitress had no personality and didn't make us feel welcome. In the morning, the tour bus guests descended on the restaurant like a swarm of locusts. It was like they had never seen food before. These guests completely clogged up the restaurant and took over. People cut in front of us, like we weren't even there. It's a shame that this hotel can't have a separate serving room for the tour groups. I would recommend this hotel to others, but I would definitely tell them to find out what time the tour groups visit the restaurant. I would also have a training session with the staff and teach them how to be personable to their guests because without us, you wouldn't have a job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.3 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Herad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Herad

Property: Icelandair Hotel Herad
Address: Midvangur 5-7, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Herad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Herad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing