We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stop.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Herad

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was traveling the Ring Road, and stayed here in May. As with all Icelandair Hotels... its a clean, modern place. There are no complaints about the rooms either. There are two grocery stores nearby, but they do close early. Unfortunately I arrived later in the day, and left first thing in the morning... so I couldn't give this hotel a more thorough review. I would definitely stay here again, on my travels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    154
    37
    6
    0
See reviews for
44
158
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is modern, clean and simple. I have noted in Iceland that they tend not to over do things. This was a great spot, comfy, nicest room so far, and an elevator. There is a tea kettle in the room for hot beverages. Soap for hand washing, no shampoo for hair. Seems a custom here, so pack your own as I do.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pleasant, better than average hotel with good service. This Iceland Air hotel was far nicer than the Fosshotels we had begun to think were the ubiquitous standard for the countryside. Enjoyed having a balcony.

Room Tip: Second floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL area
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Icelandair Hotel in Egilsstadir was quite nice. There was a modern look to the rooms. They were very clean. The in-house restaurant was on the pricy side. We actually ate at the N1 gas station down the street. Internet access costs extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Love Love Love Iceland but after a week of hotels in middle of nowhere this was a nice upgrade in terms of updated rooms, bright, sunny, clean and near lots of things to do. Wifi for a charge and a great little cafe around the corner.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanta, GA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

this was a very clean and nice hotel. we had a family room which was roomy enough for 3. bathroom was clean and basic. the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: make sure to request a room on the opposite side of where the nightly sun is. keeps the room cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveLoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is not much to look at from the outside at but the rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. I took advantage of booking online and getting the 30% discount for payment in advance. Front office staff at the Herad were friendly and helpful when we asked questions. If they didn't know they looked things up on the computer. We looked at the menu in the hotel and thought it was rather pricey and walked to the nearby Neilson restaurant which was warm and cosy and had a more reasonably priced menu. Would recommend both hotel and Neilson restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.3 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Herad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Herad

Property: Icelandair Hotel Herad
Address: Midvangur 5-7, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Herad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Herad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing