We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great half way round stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great half way round stop!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to do a 2 day round the island driving trip starting from Rekjavik, all along route 1. Not much planning involved but we emailed in advance and they kept us a room with no deposit and we were very pleased with location, the staff, the standard of accommodation and most of all the food! They were offering a 4 course meal at the time and it was excellent. Good value and so long as a good wine is not prerequisite it was good value. Met who we think we're the owners at breakfast and they were real friendly. I'd be surprised if there was better within 100 clicks of Egilsstadir.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    81
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
147
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As usual a stay in this hotel is wonderful. Egilsstadir was very icy and we were very happy to stay in this guesthouse. Excellent room with a view on the lake. We were the only guest of the guesthouse and we got a first class service. The swiss chef prepared a nice diner for us. We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent dinner, very reasonable rates in October, decent Internet speeds and comfy beds. Each room has its own shape and character. Staying there a couple of nights I determined that the rooms on the 3rd floor are better generally. Not a lot to do around egilsstadir, but if you are going there stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilmNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mývatnssveit
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here just one night as a guide during a round trip around Iceland. We arrived late but that was no problem. The food at the restaurant was good and the service was good. The beds were good and the rooms ok. WiFi worked well. The best thing was the laid back athmosphere and an excellent location, out at the lake outside of the town but just a 5 min walk to the town center. Breakfast was excellent. Only downside i could think of would be the stairs, that is if i wasn´t young and healthy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiggiGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did not stay at the guesthouse, but visited the restaurant based on a recommendation we saw online. We got to the restaurant in a bit of a hurry, after a long day of driving and sightseeing, so felt a bit underdressed - the place seems very posh and upmarket (although I felt more relaxed on seeing the guy at the next table had no shoes on.. must have been a guest at the hotel).
We ordered steak which turned out be nothing short of excellent. House wine was all right - nothing to write home about, but quite decent at the price. Our friends had mushroom soup and I think fish of the day, which they said was great too.
This was the most expensive place we'd been to in Iceland (or anywhere else, for that matter), but we don't regret a single penny. It was an amazing meal, I only wish Iceland was that far so we could go to Egilsstadir again.

Room Tip: Order steak at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We did not stay at the Guesthouse as I was booked in at the Icelandair Hotel up the road. We did head over for lunch though as it came highly recommended by the knowledgeable girl at the visitors centre in Egilsstadir.
She said it was a relaxing and inviting place for lunch or dinner. She was on the money. It has the feel of a small country inn.
There is not a lot of chicken on the menus of Iceland so when a chicken salad was offered for lunch I ordered it. Far exceeded my expectations. Tender chunks of seasoned breast on a bed of barley and greens. Done to perfection in fine dinning style.
We then moved into the lounge area by the bar and had a wonderful coffee with a huge slice of chocolate cake.
There is an outdoor patio for dinning with a view of the river. I wish I had returned for dinner but ate at my hotel instead. What a mistake, but that is another review of the Icelandair Hotel Herad.
Total cost including tax/tip for lunch for two was 7,200 Kr about $60 cdn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It was a welcome break from the B&B's we had been staying in. Was much more like a small country Inn. We had a room on the top floor which overlooked the lake. It was lovely. The room was quaint, the bathroom small but perfect. It had a nice romantic feel to it.

We had the most delicious dinner. The lamb was outstanding. The whole plate was delicious as was dessert! I can't remember what we ate but I remember it being a fabulous evening in a lovely old dining room. The menu comes in an old book - pasted inside the front pages. Every table also has a book on it with proper etiquette for eating. Fun to read! Reminds you of your manners!

Just outside the hotel is their cow barn which is really stinky! Fortunately you don't smell it anywhere else and it was quite pleasant visiting the sad eyed cows. Behind the hotel is a lovely lake and patio to sit on. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
320 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
97 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
74 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gistihusio Egilsstooum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gistihusio Egilsstooum

Property: Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Address: Egilsstadir, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Egilsstadir)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gistihusio Egilsstooum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gistihúsið - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir is family running hotel on the lakeside, all 50 rooms have private bathroom, tv, coffee te maker, hairdryer and iron. The Hotel have restaurant and it is open from 11.30 To 22. In the Hotel is also spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gistihusio Egilsstooum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Egilsstadir Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing