We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat - I wish we'd also stayed there.”

Guesthouse Egilsstadir
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A great place to eat - I wish we'd also stayed there.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We persuaded the hotel to make us a reservation - a good thing as the restaurant was full. It's a converted (very large) farmhouse with stunning views over the lake. Impeccable white linen on the tables, a quiet atmosphere - and absolutely stunning steak. They raise the cattle themselves on the farm, and is a country not famous for its beef, this is outstanding.
The wine list isn't dramatically expensive by Icelandic standards, and not hugely more costly than UK. Even though a glass of house wine comes in a small bottle - not encouraging, but not too bad.
Attentive and cheerful service in, of course, excellent English.
If we go back to east Iceland, we will certainly try and stay in the Guest-house.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    51
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“good food great setting”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

the restaurant is located in a lovely building surrounded by a beautiful garden. The guesthouse is on an operating farm so do expect cowshed smells as you come in, despite the elegance. The food was very good, service impeccable and the local produce shines. the chef must love her work. it shows.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitzi-meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal in Iceland!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Herad and found the restaurant expensive so walked down here and we were blown away!

Price was reasonable, customer service was top notch and the food was wow!

I had fish and OH had lobster. It was well cooked and spiced enough to get all the flavours out.

Will definitely visit again if I am ever in that area and recommend to all travellers through Egilstadir

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food in a tranquil location”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Called in a a quick lunch with a business colleague. Wonderful presentation, very fresh and good value. The chicken was cooked just right, not dry. A great atmosphere, helped by friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Icelandair hotel on our trip through Iceland, but had dinner at this place.I must admit the dinner was excellent.Good quality and presentation of the food.Certainly recommended if you are in the area,but I would niot rate it best in Iceland,we dined at better places when we were there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guesthouse Egilsstadir also viewed

Egilsstadir, East Region
Egilsstadir, East Region
 
Egilsstadir, East Region
Egilsstadir, East Region
 

Been to Guesthouse Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing