We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Vinland Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vinland Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 13 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Isafjordur, Iceland
2 reviews
“perfect”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The owner was great! He checked the weather and road conditions for us.
Rooms were clean, well-equipped.
Only stayed one night, but couldn't ask for a better one.
Definitely would recommend this if you're passing through the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmeganc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great setting in the wilderness, the owner is fantastic and the rooms are well equipped--- very nice fittings. Will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandickyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I found Hotel Vinland through Tripadvisor and based on the reviews decided to book it. And I am glad I did. I have stayed earlier at other hotels in Egilsstadir, but Hotel Vinland is easily the best in the area (and among the best in Iceland). It is very cosy - the owner built the building himself. The rooms & bathrooms are well-designed and appointed with very good quality fittings. The warm and friendly owner went out of his way to tend to our requests. If you want small and friendly accommodations in Egilsstadir, away from the groups and impersonal service at larger venues, then Hotel Vinland ought to be your choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

A good guesthhouse, a sweet room very confortable for a good price, it is so good to find a warm place in this cold country

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_student92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Vinland was an unexpected perk of staying in Iceland. The rooms are the perfect set-up with a microwave, teamaker, refrigerator, television, internet connection, and plenty of storage space... and VERY clean. The drive into the center is five minutes, and recently a new coffee/internet cafe opened up nearby, which is just a five minute WALK down the road. Binni (the owner) is extremely nice, and will go out of his way to make sure that you enjoy your stay. I would recommend staying in this guesthouse as opposed to one of the city hotels because you get to experience the TRUE feel of Iceland. Looking out our window, we could see the countryside and mountains -- as opposed to a Bonus supermarket and tourist shops (like the hotel views). Binni even showed us a path that we could take to hike up the mountain behind his house. It was perfectly cozy without being cramped, and perfectly quiet without being too far from the city. Plus, he picks you up and drops you off at the airport, so that adds to the convenience. Great bang for the buck!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleenvala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

One of our best accomodations in Iceland: kind owner, cosy setting, clean and spacious interieur, quite at all, we loved it. Equiped with microwave, fridge, watercooker, TV. 5 minutes by car to Egilsstadirs "city centre". We would come again every time and every season. nice countyside is easy to reach, for instance Seydisfördur and East cost.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salisburysimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We only stayed for one night, but loved it! The rooms are clean and cute (and much bigger than they appear on the website) and the bathroom was very nice. It was a quick 5-minute drive into the heart of town, and the rooms have a nice view of the surrounding countryside. It was some of our best accommodations in Iceland, and a good value as well. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
2.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
258 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
97 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guesthouse Olga
Guesthouse Olga
#5 of 13 in Egilsstadir
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinland Guesthouse

Property: Vinland Guesthouse
Address: Egilsstadir 700 | Vinland, Egilsstadir, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vinland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing