We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
122
147
61
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
122
147
61
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building the owner one night northern lights bathroom door charming hotel breakfast buffet rental car reception area short drive reception desk hot tub woods cabin lounge dinner veiw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We drove many hours up the Eastern Fjords and cut inland to get to this location. The mountains in the area looked magical and as we headed down into the valley to the tiny town of Egilsstadir. The area is known for cross country skiing and there is a college nearby. The Hotel Eyvindara was located off the main road tucked into the woods a little which gave it a wonderful cozy feel. The staff was friendly and helpful and while the rooms were minimal, they were also perfect. Don't expect a TV in your room but there is a nice area just upstairs above the lobby where you can sit and drink, read books, watch TV or talk to friends. They didn't serve dinner but there are ample offerings near, and the breakfast was perfect.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pos3tiv3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Had a very nice stay here in one of the hotel rooms. Room was small but a comfortable size with private facilities. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast fairly standard. Entire hotel was very clean. Nice quiet location outside of town but easy drive into town.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 542katieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We stayed in one of the cottages. It was so cozy! Someone from the hotel contacted us the night before our stay concerned that the cottage might be too cold and gave us our choice of the main building or the cottage (which he let us pick when we got there - so nice!). We went with the cottage because it was just too cute, and it ended up being a very comfortable temperature through the night. No TV, which was great. We got pizza and a bottle of wine and listened to music in our tiny house and had a great time. Sky was too cloudy for northern lights, but I can imagine this place being GREAT for viewing them since it's super dark and secluded. Place was a bit hard to find since it's outside of town, but worth the hunt.

Room tip: Get a cottage if you can, but the rooms in the main building look very nice as well.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank photogal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the few hotels where they smiled at you and make you feel welcome. Love the attitude they had towards us.

Buffet breakfast was very nice and complete.

The lounge was quite nice, it looked like an Ikea display, so perfect and clean. Nice place to hang for a while and watch TV.

The Wifi does not reach well some rooms but they let you know in advance but once you see the lounge where you can go to check internet you won't really mind.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnColCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Very good.
The personal are so friendly the give's the feeling you are at home.
Nice food, clean rooms and normal price.
We spend a nice evening overhete
Thanks
We recommend al athers this hotel
Pieter and Miranda

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews