We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Basic Lodging”
Review of Hotel Eyvindara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eyvindara
Ranked #1 of 15 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed for one night at this guesthouse in one of the fairly new motel-style rooms. It offered firm twin beds, a desk, two chairs and a wardrobe closet. The bathroom had a shower (no tub) and sensor lighting above the sink. The overhead light did not work. There was a nice view of the countryside and a small back patio with two chairs, but it was too cold to sit outside. The drapes across the view windows worked fine to block out the 24/7 sunlight. A large frosted window area on the entry door, however, let in lots of light, which interfered with sleep. There are other types of rooms here, which may provide a better experience. They include guest rooms above the dining area and cottages.

The standard Icelandic buffet (meat, cheese, breads, fresh fruits, etc.) comes with the room at no additional cost. Unfortunately, it is set up in a small area, which made access difficult because of the large number of guests. People were actually tripping over each other.

This guesthouse offers a set dinner to guests for 4500 KR (2 courses) or 5700 KR (3 courses).
We opted to have the 2-course dinner (main course of barbecue chicken) and found it to be tough and lacking in flavor. There are probably better dining possibilities in town.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very nice cabins including a small kitchen. Breakfast is also pretty good, although there isn't much room around the buffet. Internet is not free, but 200kr is a resonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaldBankras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Guesthouse Eyvindará is a combination of small cabins and at least one larger house. We stayed at Eyvindará II, a red house across the street from the registration area and cabins. It contains 3 small rooms - 2 rooms with 1 bed each and 1 with 2 beds. There is no sink in the room, but there are 2 bathrooms in the house plus a large sitting area and a kitchen with all the appliances and dinnerware you could ever need. The all-wood interior paneling gave it a lovely, rustic look and the knick knacks and family pictures made it feel like home. It is a beautiful, very comfortable, clean house with a great WiFi connection and even a view of distant Lake Lögurinn. The owners even let us use their washer and dryer in the house. It couldn’t have been more convenient! (We paid them for the use of the machines at check-out - the same price as the laundromat in town but in the house we could wash our clothes while we relaxed in easy chairs!)

A varied breakfast is included in the price of lodging. Dinner is available for a fee, but there are also other places to eat in Egilsstaðir. They required a 10% deposit for lodging when we booked the room. When we stayed in July 2011, it was about 90 Euros per night for 2 adults.

There was plenty of space in the house and we felt right at home at Eyvindará II. It’s outside of town and not in walking distance to shops or restaurants, but we had a car so that was no problem. This was probably my favorite place to stay in Iceland!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very clean, with nice and fairly big rooms and plentiful breakfast. It also is conveniently located near city and other local sites. The only downside was very noisy and rude co-guests. They would not let us use shared bathroom and made a lot of noise in the middle of the night.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank olgajane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

As a group of 10 family members we were offered to rent a separate house (owned by the same family that owns the guesthouse and cottages) about a 5-minute drive from the main facility. The house is located in a residential neighborhood on the outskirts of Egilsstaðir. It has two levels and enough bedrooms and beds for 10 people. The kitchen was large and and the living room was comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were clean and modern. We had to drive to the main facility for meals. The meals were mediocre at best. We had much better dinners during our Iceland trip and also experienced breakfasts that had more variety.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Out of 8 nights of staying different places during ring road trip, i would say Guesthouse Eyvindará is the best among all. Simply because the owner, Sibba is very friendly. We had a pleasant stay on 1st May 2011. The guesthouse is in good decent condition, good breakfast provided, but come with reasonable price. What more u could ask for?
one simple suggestion is the wifi signal could be improved. :)

Regards,
Hui

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enig_Hui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Super welcome. Amazing room. Clean, Modern. great location. easy to find.
Parking next door to room.
Do not miss going to the public hot tub in town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gonen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
1.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
86 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
280 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eyvindara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eyvindara

Address: Eyvindara, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Eyvindara)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range: $114 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eyvindara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eyvindara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing