We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special about the cottage”
Review of Hotel Framtid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Framtid
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Djupivogur
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a cottage here for one night. I presume in the hotel they have wireless since we had some access codes in the room, but no chance of reception there. The staff at the reception were ok, one guy (with an interesting piercing, can't believe he's allowed to wear that at work) was very helpful in informing us about a glacier tour. I found it an incredible rip-off that the breakfast would have been 10 euros per person. Everywhere else we stayed it was included in the room price, and the room was not cheap here. I had to sleep on the 'sofabed' which was a tiny foldout bed. I would not recommend sharing a cabin for anyone slightly wider or particularly tall, unless _you_ get the bedroom. There is also no curtain on one window in the kitchen so it was partially light where I was sleeping the whole night. The water was not warm in the shower, and there was a sign saying that you get only 15mins of hot water per hour. (it was not hot at all). The view is of the harbour, but it's not a particularly nice view. I wouldn't stay here again, as it was only a place to stay for us while in transit, and there are nicer/cheaper places around.

Room Tip: Don't take a cabin if you are more than 2 or like hot showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the newest potion of the hotel which is lined with beautiful wood panelling. It took a while for the hot water to get down to our room, but when it did it was nice and hot. The rooms were clean and functional. Breakfast was included with our stay and we ate a fine dinner in the restaurant as well. The staff members weren't overly friendly or helpful, but we had no problems during our stay.

Room Tip: I would opt for the new wing and not the summer cottages or other apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevenFouteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Easy place to find, rooms were situated in a separate building - 100m away - no problem to find it. The restaurant serves lovely food for breakfast and dinner. Rooms overall - very clean and big. We could use the self service facilities to cook our meals.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPOBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have no idea what the main part of the hotel was like but were in an apartment which was not the best. This was an upgrade too! You could have cooked if you had bought your own equipment but of course we hadn't! It was clean but just looked tired and not very comfortable. The meal was good in the restaurant though.

Room Tip: The summerhouse's look good if you can cope with no wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our least favorite stay during our 9 night adventure in iceland. We found the front staff cold, no breakfast was included, and the rooms were very basic (but clean). The water in the shower was luke warm at best (which is unusual in iceland because of the abundance supply of hot water!). We would not stay here again if we had the choice. The place was also overpacked with tourist buses ... and it was not the feel we wanted for independent travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has many parts. We stayed in the newer wing that should be dubbed the knotty pine hall. Rooms, hallway, ceiling all knotty pine. But fine room. There are also cottages, room with shared bathroom facilities etc. we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant, food is quite good ( don't bother with garlic bread that is a garlic and butter pizza) some of the best fish soup we had. Service could be improved but was friendly. Breakfast is in the big hall but met expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raf123fgtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the summerhouse accommodation which was clean and warm. The wifi though didn't work anywhere. The view across the harbour was good and we were able to watch the trawlers go in and out. The local swimming pool was warm and clean and a good place to have a rest in a hot tub. Not much in the village to look at though the drive was OK on the gravel road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Djupivogur
20.4 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
260 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Blafell
Hotel Blafell
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
145 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Stadarborg
Hotel Stadarborg
#2 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Framtid Camping Lodging Barrels
0.1 mi away
Guest House Hammersminni
Guest House Hammersminni
#2 of 2 in Djupivogur
21 reviews
3 mi away
Berunes HI Hostel
Berunes HI Hostel
#2 of 9 in Djupivogur
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Framtid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framtid

Address: Vogaland 4, Djupivogur 765, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Djupivogur
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Djupivogur
Price Range: $114 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Framtid 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Framtid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Framtid Iceland/Djupivogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing