We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and breathtaking!”
Review of Lake Myvatn

Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Lake Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We visited Iceland for the third time in June this year. Unlike in the past where we flew in KEF and mostly stayed around Reykjavik, the capital, this time we decided to rent a car and drive around the ring to Lake Myvatn, stopping whenever needed to discover and enjoy some amazing and breathtaking natural venues. It was the best decision and we'll do it again.

This is one of the areas of the famous split between the Eurasian and North American continents. We spent time at the natural baths and enjoyed Hverarond (active volcanoes area), Hverfjall with huge crater and Dimmuborgir, the lava field with its famous Arc and church.
But, the best thing is that between Reykjavik and Lake Myvatn area, we were able to stop (sometimes spending the night) several times to enjoy the natural beautiful landscape that this region has to offer; and we were not disappointed at all. We were so pleased that we decided to go back, again, in a couple of years or so.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank 284Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird watching"
in 24 reviews
"pseudo craters"
in 42 reviews
"bird life"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 16 reviews
"head net"
in 6 reviews
"lava fields"
in 35 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 7 reviews
"nature baths"
in 24 reviews
"hot springs"
in 18 reviews
"rock formations"
in 11 reviews
"bubbling mud pools"
in 7 reviews
"northern iceland"
in 11 reviews
"road trip"
in 6 reviews
"black olives"
in 7 reviews
"out of this world"
in 6 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 27 reviews
"geothermal area"
in 7 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 984 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2017

The lake itself and the surroundings (Krafla Lava fields among many others) is wonderful. We encourage you to go on top of the mountain (northwest of the lake - I can't remember the name but the GPS coordinates are: 65.624683, -17.067599); it takes about one hour to reach the top but the 360 degree panorama is wonderful!
We only spent one day at Myvatn and there are certainly many other nice places to visit around.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JosephinePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

If you're on a road trip through Iceland, Lake Myvatn is like an oasis in the middle of absolutely nothing. There are lots of hotels and restaurants, great Northern Lights viewing, and many things to do surrounding the lake. We were only here one night, but I wish we had had longer.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

The name means "midge lake". So, covered in insect repellant I ventured forth. I was surprised to find that the midges had gone elsewhere that day! Super views and a good walk.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Validreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We were lucky and visited on a clear day and got great pics of the mountains, interesting pseudo-craters and the lovely lake.

Take a walk away from the tourists and just sit awhile and listen to the water lapping and the bird song.
Several restaurants nearby and at least one hotel right on the lake.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Myvatn also viewed

 
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Lake Myvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing