We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lake Myvatn
from $118.90
More Info
from $1,610.59
More Info
from $1,249.07
More Info
from $235.40
More Info
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveler rating
631
334
94
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
631
334
94
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pseudo craters beautiful area head net lava fields beautiful scenery hot springs nature baths northern iceland bubbling mud pools out of this world ring road game of thrones midges flies birds myvatn goldeneye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

The lake itself and the surroundings (Krafla Lava fields among many others) is wonderful. We encourage you to go on top of the mountain (northwest of the lake - I can't remember the name but the GPS coordinates are: 65.624683, -17.067599); it takes about one hour to reach the top but the 360 degree panorama is wonderful!
We only spent one day at Myvatn and there are certainly many other nice places to visit around.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JosephinePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

If you're on a road trip through Iceland, Lake Myvatn is like an oasis in the middle of absolutely nothing. There are lots of hotels and restaurants, great Northern Lights viewing, and many things to do surrounding the lake. We were only here one night, but I wish we had had longer.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank laurensoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

The name means "midge lake". So, covered in insect repellant I ventured forth. I was surprised to find that the midges had gone elsewhere that day! Super views and a good walk.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Validreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We were lucky and visited on a clear day and got great pics of the mountains, interesting pseudo-craters and the lovely lake.

Take a walk away from the tourists and just sit awhile and listen to the water lapping and the bird song.
Several restaurants nearby and at least one hotel right on the lake.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Sharlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Well worth the effort to get here and spend some time - beautiful / strange scenery and wonderful birdlife - a real bird watchers, ramblers paradise. Some lovely walking plus a very good circular drive around entire lake. Tip: If a birder it is good where the road crosses the Laxa river.

Beware though - Myvatn is (literally) Midge-Lake and it is aptly named, whilst they are not the "biters" of Scotland in the main, what they lack in teeth they make up for in numbers (if you don't like them take a midge net)

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Fargo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews