We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lake Myvatn
from $119.07
More Info
from $128.69
More Info
from $129.90
More Info
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
630
332
94
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
630
332
94
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pseudo craters beautiful area head net lava fields stunning scenery hot springs nature baths northern iceland bubbling mud pools out of this world ring road game of thrones midges flies birds myvatn goldeneye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2017

From towering cinder cones to black, moss-covered lava sculptures, Lake Myvatn does not disappoint. There is a very scenic drive encircling the lake. Beautiful and well-worth the short detour. So pretty at sunset.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank kimsQ9843IB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017

When we visited the entire lake and surrounds were both frozen and snow-covered. A truly stunning area of natural beauty.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank S7186EVchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

We were in a hurry, so we didn't do any long walk... it is anyway very recomendable and I would like to come back with more time

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank TrebolTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

When we were there most of the lake was frozen. With that Icelandic horse drag racing was being held. This is a fun competition to watch. The horses run a measured one kilometer course and are timed. Fastest one wins.
We hiked through the crater field and had a great view of the surrounding area.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The whole area around Lake Myvatn is something else - each place you may stop at is so completely different from the last one it takes your breathe away. We were in this area in Mid-September, and were so luck with the weather, where we had sun and blue skies (some rain yes, but nothing to worry about). Book into a hotel and discover the nooks and crannies, it really is beautiful.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews