We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lake Myvatn
from $119.07
More Info
from $128.69
More Info
from $129.90
More Info
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
630
332
94
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
630
332
94
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pseudo craters beautiful area head net lava fields stunning scenery hot springs nature baths northern iceland bubbling mud pools out of this world ring road game of thrones midges flies birds myvatn goldeneye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2016

We decided to drive around the lake to take in its full beauty as we were not going to be spending the night in the area. It's an easy drive, not many places you can pull over for pictures though, but when you can, it's worth a stop. We didn't spot the lake ''monster''m but it could be a fun way to get kids involved.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

I visited Myvatn for 1 day & 1 night, I wish I could stay half a week to see all its marvels!
This is a truly unique place, and although you can see so many things in less than 1h drive, my favourite place is the lake. Incredible landscape, perfect to wander in the nature.

My advice: if the weather is favourable (i.e. no cloud + sun activity), go on top of a hill next to the lake and watch the Aurora borealis - no photoshop needed :)

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Barbeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

During our visit in September 2016 we stayed 2 days at Lake Myvatn. It is a breathtaking place especially during fall with lots of things to explore from hiking to natural hot springs. The scenery is just perfect for taking mesmerizing photos. One other thing to do while up there is a trip to the little fisher town of Husavik also known as the whale watching capitol of Iceland. Next time we will spend more time at Lake Myvatn.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank AlexGirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Around the lake there is many things to do like the volcanos and the hot spring.
North from the lake Dettifoss, Godafoss Husavik and more.
Very interesting area to spent 3 days.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Orielsh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We cam here in September in 2 days.The first day it was raining and foggy and the other day sunny. Ifit is sunny it is the most amazing place and so beautifull with colour,.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews