We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Visit if you can get here!!!”
Review of Lake Myvatn

Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Lake Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Lots to do in Myvatn region. We spent a lot of time researching and trying to understand the area, and even then, there were a lot of surprises (Pleasant ones!) once here. Falls: Detifoss, Godafoss, Selfoss. Lake Myvatn, a bird sanctuary, the pseudo-craters, hot spots (Namfjall region, Krafla volcano and craters, Grjotagja caves, Dummoborgir area, geothermal electric and water plants, Hverfjall crater. So much to do and explore. The small town of Reykjahlid, on Lake Myvatn is the base town for the region. A few guesthouses, each with its own personality and character.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank cliffkolber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird watching"
in 24 reviews
"pseudo craters"
in 42 reviews
"bird life"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 16 reviews
"head net"
in 6 reviews
"lava fields"
in 35 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 7 reviews
"nature baths"
in 23 reviews
"rock formations"
in 11 reviews
"hot springs"
in 16 reviews
"northern lights"
in 11 reviews
"bubbling mud pools"
in 7 reviews
"northern iceland"
in 11 reviews
"road trip"
in 6 reviews
"black olives"
in 7 reviews
"out of this world"
in 6 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 27 reviews
Filter

197 - 201 of 981 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2016

We decided to drive around the lake to take in its full beauty as we were not going to be spending the night in the area. It's an easy drive, not many places you can pull over for pictures though, but when you can, it's worth a stop. We didn't spot the lake ''monster''m but it could be a fun way to get kids involved.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

I visited Myvatn for 1 day & 1 night, I wish I could stay half a week to see all its marvels!
This is a truly unique place, and although you can see so many things in less than 1h drive, my favourite place is the lake. Incredible landscape, perfect to wander in the nature.

My advice: if the weather is favourable (i.e. no cloud + sun activity), go on top of a hill next to the lake and watch the Aurora borealis - no photoshop needed :)

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Barbeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

During our visit in September 2016 we stayed 2 days at Lake Myvatn. It is a breathtaking place especially during fall with lots of things to explore from hiking to natural hot springs. The scenery is just perfect for taking mesmerizing photos. One other thing to do while up there is a trip to the little fisher town of Husavik also known as the whale watching capitol of Iceland. Next time we will spend more time at Lake Myvatn.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Around the lake there is many things to do like the volcanos and the hot spring.
North from the lake Dettifoss, Godafoss Husavik and more.
Very interesting area to spent 3 days.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Uriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Myvatn also viewed

 
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Lake Myvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing