We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Priceline$130
Booking.com$123
Hotels.com$119
CheapTickets$119
eDreams$123
Trip.com$133
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
240
274
103
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
274
103
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour waffles nice hotel breakfast buffet comfortable room two nights lamb beautiful location nature baths minimalist window lake rise snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 644 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

We stopped for lunch. It was clean. Modern and new. Eco friendly. Nice bathrooms. Summer time expect a lot of flies. Food was ok. there are about 4 hotels around the lake. I am not a fan of the modern style. But if you are you would like it. A lot seating areas.

Have fun. Follow us. @nickellfamilytravel

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NickellFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

This hotel was exceptionally beautiful both in the views and it's architecture/indoor and outdoor spaces. The breakfast was good. The room was clean and the shower was really nice. I would absolutely love to come back in the winter to see the northen lights here.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

We didn't get here until 11pm at night as we hadn't realised there'd be no other places to stay for one and and a half hours on the Ring Road as we approached from the east. We were grateful for their 24/7 reception desk. We were initially offered a room for 41,000 Icelandic Kroner but that finally came down to 21,255 Icelandic Kroner (£134 UK) to match what I was seeing online. I did wonder why I hadn't just booked it on Booking.com rather than have that discussion at 11pm. Usually a hotel will match or better the Booking.com rate if you walk in and ask for a room as they are then not paying the commission. Also, at 11pm at night they are hardly going to sell it to other people so why ask so much? Anyway, the helpful receptionist from Leeds, UK did sort it out for us.

We had room 7 which was overlooking the car park. The room was very nice, a good size and clean although I found the brushed cotton sheets rather rough.

Breakfast was okay but custard cream and bourbon biscuits? These are very dull and boring British biscuits (cookies) for the non Brits reading this! Also the ubiquitous bottle of cod liver oil we saw in a few hotels. Do Icelanders really use that stuff?! The only hot food (apart from making waffles and toast) was baked beans, scrambled eggs and sausages. None looked that appetising. The waffle maker was good though.

There were a LOT of flies outside the hotel as it's very close to the lake. There were flies all over close to the lake. They are a nuisance but don't seem to bite. Somewhere in size between a house fly and a mosquito. The hotel sell mosquito nets which many tour parties were wearing en masse. They all looked rather odd! We used Avon 'Skin So Soft' which seemed to keep the flies away mostly. Some people swear by this product as an mosquito repellent.

Room tip: Ask to see the room first and for one with a view
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank camval
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

Rooms are minimalist-chic with decent sized bathroom. Great shower, didn’t get overwhelmed by any sulphur smell in the water at all. Comfortable beds and room comes with basic amenities such as kettle, coffee, tea and hairdryer. Had dinner in the restaurant one night of my stay- hands down the best lamb I’ve ever eaten!
Included breakfast is standard Icelandic affair and plenty available. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank KyraH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

I stayed in a single room, but plenty of space. Simple hotel but very clean and well-kept. Food good too, and service very attentive. Staff also very helpful on Reception. Lovely walk round the pseudo-craters just over the road, but watch out for the midges - they don't bite, but they do get in the way, although luckily they don't get into the hotel rooms.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HOLLESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews