We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$119
View deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
240
274
103
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
274
103
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour waffles nice hotel breakfast buffet comfortable room two nights lamb beautiful location nature baths minimalist window lake rise snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 644 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019

Would have liked something a little bigger and not with a Bathroom with no shower door, divider or wall. Water was free to get all over. There was a squeegee provided. Our room was actually supposed to have 3 beds which would have been really cramped. The staff was polite and helpful and the facility was very clean which I found Iceland to be. We did look at photos prior and it was the best choice for the area. I guess after a suite at another hotel, it was a little disappointing.
Breakfast provided was the typical European fare which isn't to my liking but I found items to eat. Just different cultures.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Comfortable modern hotel with cosy rooms and comfortable bed. Large windows and cushioned window seats allow you to make the most of the beautiful views. Good but basic bathroom - bring your own toiletries. Excellent breakfast selection. The dinner was also delicious - a small menu but all locally sourced foods. The hotel location is very remote so be prepared for a long drive if you intend to have evening meal elsewhere (though I can recommend the restaurant). Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of beautiful natural sights, attractions and walks in the area. This was probably my favourite of the 8 hotels we stayed in on our road trip.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oasisgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We were greeted by lovely front desk hostess who explained a lot of local attraction to us. In fact it was great to enjoy the view with a glass of wine at hotel’s half price happy hour.
The room was modern fitted with good bathroom, tea and coffee. The bed was firm compare to other places we stayed at in Iceland.
Breakfast was a highlight, full of waffles, crossiants, cold meats, vegetables, eggs, bacon, baked beans, breads etc.
The only downside was the TV channels seems to have problem with signals.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dozzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We arrived after a long day on the road. The rooms were nice, although a little small. Breakfast was typical Icelandic layout of breads, cheese, meats and eggs. During our stay there was no television signal; it seems pretty minor but actually we had been looking forward to a relaxing night in our room after a long day out. No one informed of us issues on check-in and when we rang reception to report it, it seemed to have been a known issue for the past couple of days. We would have preferred a cheaper hotel for the night which ticked some of the basics off on that basis. Otherwise location is good very close to the lake and ahead of arrival I emailed a few times about various things and received prompt responses.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JCBobs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Hotel Laxa is a modern hotel positioned well on the hill. We viewed the most amazing Northern Lights show from atop the hill there and loved being able to completely open our window, balancing our tripod atop to not even leave our room and capture fabulous photos!

Two negatives.....the hotel charges for anything other than black coffee so I had to purchase my Latte and shampoo and conditioner were not in the bathroom.

Overall, a good stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews