We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Sel Hotel Myvatn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of the Iceland Complete tour and had a very nice stay. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The bed was fine and the shades kept out the sunlight so that we were able to sleep with no problem. Food was good as well as the service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Sel Hotel Myvatn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't take the buffet option. Ala carte trout and lamb shanks were delicious. Good service. Hotel interior is simple but nice view of small craters. Unfortunately bed is quite soft. Room pleasantly decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raf123fgtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Iceland is a beautiful country with very friendly and helpful people. Whale watching in Husavik was an amazing experience though wrap up well even in summer. While a visit to the Blue Lagoon is lovely, it is very touristy whereas the Myvatn nature baths are a must as they are so much more peaceful and serene. Go in the evening as it was almost empty when we were there. I have said all I want to but apparently it still is not enough to be submitted!! I did a marathon overnight which was v cold hardwork, not to be recommended but an a incredible experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed as part of a large group and we took over practically the whole hotel.

The staff were polite and helpful and the food was fine. The whole hotel was clean, and the only thing that made it look less so was the numerous dead midges on the window ledges but the name translates to Lake of Midges and clearing them up would be a full time job! They come out when it's warmer and not too windy, and we had an Icelandic version of a heatwave so out they came!

Only a few minor points. While there was a kettle in the room, plus tea bags and coffee, no milk of any sort was provided, not even long life UHT. In June it is light all night, the curtains weren't particularly thick and there really should have been some sort of black out blinds. Fortunately we had been warned so I had an eye mask with me but it could be a real problem. And with all those midges, some sort of insect screening on the windows would be good. Because it was hot and not surprisingly there is no aircon, we wanted to sleep with the windows open but loads of midges came in. The most we could manage was to leave them open just a crack but that didn't make much difference as the sun shone directly into our room all day.

The hotel is convenient for the nature baths, and there is a small gift shop/cafe across the car park. The hotel is right near the edge of the lake and the views are spectacular. I'd happily pay a return visit when it's dark enough to see the Northern Lights!

Room Tip: Regardless of room, if you're there in the summer take an eye mask if you want to get any sleep!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed there on a tour. Exterior could be more attractive - lots of asphalt around entrance. Rooms and meals adequate - nothing special, but no problems. Excellent location across from lake - hiking paths. Beware of the midges - bring or buy a net for your head,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were here for 2 nights as part of a tour, so had no choice! The location is great as you can walk by the lake and up and around the pseudo craters. It's also a close drive to the crater Hverfjall. If you're there in summer, walk up and around this at midnight. AMAZING. It's also a short drive to the nature baths. The food both nights was the buffet. The food was good and plentiful, if not inspired. Both nights were basically the same food. Breakfast was also a buffet with typical Icelandic breakfast fare. The coffee was really good. The rooms were larger than some we stayed in, but the basin was really small and hard to use. Our room faced away from the lake, toward the farm. Because we were there in June, there was no darkness. The birds living in the tree outside our window took full advantage of that fact! The only cooling was opening the window, so we listened to the birds all night. The curtains did not make the room dark, but none of the hotels we stayed at the two weeks we were there had black out curtains. After a couple nights the all night light becomes common. We spent little time in the room, except to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Well located for walking around the pseudo craters at the Southern part of Lake Myvatn. A little bit wet and awkward to make the walk because there was still snow around in parts. Great bird life to see.

Hotel staff were friendly and the room was comfortable enough, though nothing fancy and not especially stylish. Breakfast decent - their bread was one of the better we tasted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikiBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Myvatn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#7 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#1 of 1 in Skutustadahreppur
56 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Laugar
Hotel Laugar
#1 of 1 in Laugar
21 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sel Hotel Myvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sel Hotel Myvatn

Address: Skutustadir, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Price Range: $168 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sel Hotel Myvatn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sel Hotel Myvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing