We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lake Myvatn
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
37
63
97
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
63
97
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quick stop dinner room room was a bit small dining area is very nice hotel shores of lake twin room stay there again breakfast spread hotel is located one night stay free wifi pseudo craters beds were comfortable short drive bread northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 268 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Had a very good lunch of salmon, white asparagus soup and salad. Was very good
and service was very fast. If you wish, they serve local beer which is extra. No need for reservations. Reasonably priced.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisaRunJ, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Larry T,

Thank you for dropping by for lunch and for taking time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback and are happy you had a pleasant meal.

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Gígur,
Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

Clean room, centrally located, friendly staff. Close to the hot spring baths and other attractions. Across the street from locally-made ice cream shop! Two nice and easy hikes next door with lots of sheep! Would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lisalikesbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisaRunJ, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lisalikesbooks,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review. The Lake Mývatn area is truly unique and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Gígur,
Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Two beds, dirty room, no tv, no amenities. Tiny tiny tiny space. Old shower. Not stayed in a place this bad for a while.

The location is great and you can sit by the lake and look out. We did this (in the cold) just to get out of our terribly depressing cramped room. I’d try avoid this place.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank selbycabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisaRunJ, Manager at Hotel Gigur by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear selbycabbage,

We are truly sorry to see that you had a disappointing stay. We can not argue about your experience but wish you would have told us about your dissatisfaction while you were staying.

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Gígur,
Hrafnhildur E. Karlsdóttir
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Very, very good food! Good view from restaurant to lake! Friendly and helpful staff! Good location and not so far from beautiful places ! Rooms it's not so big, but is good for 1 - 2 nights ;-)) Was good choice for us!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SomSrii123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisaRunJ, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear SomSrii123,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than to see when our guests enjoy their time here and we are thrilled to see how much you liked it.
We all hope to see you again some day.

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Gígur,
Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

It's a shame that the beauty location of this hotel is ruined by the very unhappy rooms (dimensions of a ship's cabin !!) in which It is difficult to move around in two.
Good restaurant and breakfast. Questionabile cleanliness. Hight price compared to the rooms offered.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Giulio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisaRunJ, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear Giulio B,

Thank you for staying and for taking time to write a review. We are sorry to see you felt disappointed with your room. They are small, but it is no secret, and their size is listed everywhere online where they are bookable.
We appreciate your lovely compliments on our restaurant and the breakfast buffet and hope you had a wonderful time in the Lake Mývatn area.

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Gígur,
Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews