We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Lofthellir Lava Cave
from $243.15
More Info
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
104
19
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
104
19
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice formations waterproof pants rubber boots tour starts reasonable shape a lot of fun visitor center booked this tour physical condition helmets crawl socks guide spikes adventure stalagmites van
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 133 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Amazing place. I quess, that this should be one of the places to visit, when visiting the Iceland and you are in Myvatn area.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Margus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Family holiday to Iceland and my wife booked this trip. I was not entirely sure what to expect - all I knew was that we needed to have waterproof overtrousers as out bottoms may get wet.
The trip started from our hotel in a super Jeep (big jeep with even bigger tyres) and took us over the lava fields stopping at a location to climb up a small formation. We continued to the 'base camp' for the Lava Cave. Here we were given boots and hard hats.
A short walk to the entrance of the cave where we climbed down steps into the centre of a hole.
Although this was impressive, it was nothing to what was to come.
We then saw our entrance to the cave - a narrow slot that we had to crawl through - although not a very long crawl be aware if you suffer from claustrophobia!
Once through we were inside the Lava Tube and in a larger chamber. Another crawl and another even better chamber.
The whole cave has a floor of ice that is fed from water filtering through the lava above, this causes ice stalagtites and stalagmites.
This whole experience was truly the highlight of my trip to Iceland this time.

Date of experience: February 2018
6  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryndis93, Team Saga Travel at Lofthellir Lava Cave, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Thank you for the kind words. Lofthellir Cave is truly unique and it's one of our favourite places in North Iceland, I'm happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We were taken on a private tour to the cave with Saga Travel who organised all of our day trips. These guys went out of there way to be great tour guides the most interesting and fun to be with was Jule - I am not sure of how to spell his name but he was really patient with and helped us all navigate the wild countryside of Iceland - Cheers Jule we owe you a beer - you were amazing.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank reydan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryndis93, Team Saga Travel at Lofthellir Lava Cave, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Thank you for your review uf us here at Saga Travel! It's good to hear that you had a good time with our local guide Júlli/Júlíus/Jule :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We went with a guide from GeoTravel who was fantastic. We drove by the impressive craters and then to a supply depot to get our equipment for entering the cave. It was a short walk through deep snow to this gaping hole with a ladder into the entrance to the cave. It was a bit daunting - the first slither through a crawlspace to get to the larger part of the cave and the walking up a ice hill (using a rope) to an area with blue ice - but it was fantastic. Would highly recommend - even in the winter.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryndis93, Team Saga Travel at Lofthellir Lava Cave, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Great to hear that you had a good time on our Cave Exploration Lofthellir tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Picked up on time by our guide Byarki. Excellent guide and very informative. The cave is awesome. Make sure you take waterproof pants!!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank ilse g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryndis93, Team Saga Travel at Lofthellir Lava Cave, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews