We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for Lake Myvatn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reynihlid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reynihlid
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice for Lake Myvatn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had booked the Hotel Sel Myvatn initially. However it was double booked so it was suggested we try this hotel. Good decision. We were made very welcome, the staff were very helpful with suggested activities as we were independent travellers. Gardur on the reception desk was particularly helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast at the weekend was a better spread when the hotel was full than when when there there were only two or three other rooms booked on the Monday morning. Location was superb. Saw the Northern lights twice whilst staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margret Holm V, Director of Sales at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. It is very good hear from our customers what they think about our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    140
    70
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
210
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for only one night during our Iceland tour. There was only one room occupied other than ours. The rooms were simple but clean, the breakfast was not lavish but nice. The best thing about this hotel though is the location - it being a maximum five minutes drive from every Myvatn attraction.

The highlight was the stunning display of Northern Lights we got to witness from our bedroom window at night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drpeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had the most awesome time here. We booked the nature package which runs from Thursday evening through to Sunday morning (seems it is a good idea to be out of Reykjavik over the weekend). Nothing was too much trouble. The booking was easy, the aiport collection went smoothly and the activities on offer were great - we wanted to do a lot of options, so the hotel staff went out of their way to schedule everything for us. The included excursion is a basic sightseeing trip around Lake Myvatn and invcluded the lake, Dimmuborgir and Hverir. Extra activities were snowmobiling, snowshoeing, horseriding; and a daytrip to Dettifoss. There is a stop at Godafoss on the return trip to the airport. The Nature baths are great so we we went back again on the second evening. All the staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable, food excellent. Saw the Northern Lights (they have someone at reception who goes out to check on a regular basis, and if you leave your name at reception, they will call you if you they're out). Really, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well kept rooms that offer you a good launching point to see plenty of the best Myvatn has to offer. Also has a restaurant which serves good food and seems to be connected to another eatery just nearby connected to the same area of parking. The food there is also good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall the Hotel Reynihlid is a very good place to stay at Lake Myvatn. Hotel is located in the main community at the lake. Our room was large with a private bath that had a shower and tub. Beds are medium firm giving a good night rest. Breakfast is complimentary and dinner was a good value with a standard menu. Staff is outstanding and people friendly. We highly recommend the hotel while staying in the Lake Myvatn area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA-Short-Term
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed a night here, room is clean and about average. Free and ample parking with good restaurant. A beautiful church beside the Hotel. We had have Mussels and Lamb for dinner and we like the taste. One of the Good hotel at Myvatn. We wish to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose room with Church view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margret Holm V, Director of Sales at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again sometimes!
Best regards

Margrét
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent one weekend at Hotel Reynihlid. We used the saturday to travel around the area and enjoy the area. The color of the nature is so beautiful in this time of year! And the geothermal hotspring in Myvatn was a nice stop after the daytour around the area.
We then ate fantastic dinner in the evening together with few of our friends - Fantastic weekend and would recommend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirgirThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margret Holm V, Director of Sales at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi!

Nice to hear from you and that you liked our service. We will be pleased to see you again, next autumn the latest!

Regards
Margrét
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Myvatn hotels
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 6 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#2 of 6 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#6 of 6 in Lake Myvatn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elda Guest House
Elda Guest House
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reynihlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reynihlid

Property: Hotel Reynihlid
Address: Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reynihlid 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reynihlid is the only **** hotel in Lake Myvatn region. We offer first class accommodation and professional service to our guests. Our restaurant, The Mill, is renowned for its quality of local food, wine assortment and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Reynihlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reynihlid Hotel Myvatn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing