We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Hotel Reynihlid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Reynihlid
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Reynihlid. It was probably our most expensive hotel in Iceland but it certainly stood out over the others. Lovely welcome from the male receptionist who allowed us to check in early. He had made a note of my request for a very quiet room. Although we missed out on the view over the lake, the room was quiet and had a view of a pretty church at the back. Breakfasts were excellent – good selection of food provided. We had a very good dinner in the hotel on one evening, and on our second night we ate at the nearby Vogafjos Café trying their excellent house platter which we can highly recommend. Lovely views of the lake from the café.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet but don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is always good to hear our guests opinion. Hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    147
    72
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
221
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012. The staff were both helpful and friendly.the food in the dining room was good and we ate here every night of our stay. the breakfast buffet was the most varied of our tour and included bacon and eggs.
The first night I slept badly and was worried that this would spoil our trip. All my anxieties were solved by a topper on the mattress which transformed the situation. My husband did not need any assistance to sleep well and I think the beds were fine generally, but not for me! so if you are sensitive to this issue of firm hotel beds be reassured,the topper really helped.
This hotel supplied a kettle and tea bags in the bedroom which is very welcome.there was also free wifi in the bedrooms as well as the public rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Reynihlid after a busy day of touring on Iceland's narrow roads and were greeted by a friendly male employee working the front desk. He had read my request for a 1st floor room and handed me the key to a beautiful corner room in the front of the hotel (without having to ask) overlooking the lake. The room was very clean and large with very comfortable beds and good sized showers. My daughter and I were able to use the free wifi in our rooms before heading out to dinner, then a late swim in the thermal pool. Upon returning to our room after midnight, the sun was briefly setting over the lake, as we closed the room darkening shades. Breakfast, which was included, was a real treat with its warm, home made breads, porridge, smoked fish, eggs, cold cuts, and fresh brewed coffee. Great customer service and a good night's sleep made for a happy stay in Myvatn.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimibreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review, it means a lot to us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Reynihlid at the end of February 2012. The staff was very accommodating as we arrived at night (called ahead) in a very low season. They had no problem with us checking in after dinner at the Cowshed Cafe. However, when I asked about a wake-up call for the Northern Lights, the front desk attendant looked at me like I was a little nutty. Our hotel in Hofn did this!

The hotel has a very nice lobby. Our room was very clean and nice. We did use the Wifi from our room without a problem. The breakfast was very tasty as well. It is hard to say if this was good value for money since we paid as a package.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Though we had sunny and dry weather, the wind coming from the southwest was fierce. We only stayed one night, but we wish we could have been there longer. The very comfortable beds, the excellent breakfast (with fresh, hot and plentiful choices), and friendly staff were all standouts. It was so comfortable , especially with the howling wind, it was hard to leave! The only negatives were that we could not get WiFi in our room and the small square door was a bit hard to get in and out of without getting water on the floor. The bistro accros the parking lot (also opened by the hotel) was an excellent option for a good meal (as compared to the hotel dining room) in a more traditional and less expensive setting..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Hotel Reynihlid in May 2012. We had originally booked into the Hotel Reykjahlid, but our booking was transferred after the hotel was sold and closed for renovation. Although the Hotel Reynihlid was not as close to the lake, the service more than made up for it.

We were allocated a corner room, which had a double aspect view of the lake and surroundings. The view was beautiful. The only downside was that the wifi signal didn't reach our room, but there was plenty of communal space downstairs for us to use the wifi to plan the next day's activities. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and good blackout curtains and there was plenty of free parking. The hotel's restaurant didn't serve evening meals when we stayed, but the cafe next door did. The food was nothing fancy, but serving sizes big and the food tasty. The breakfast was varied and the hotel staff friendly and helpful.

This was my favourite hotel in our Iceland trip, I'd certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoonhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

End of February 2012 we visited the Myvatn region to spot the Northern Lights. For three nights we stayed at this hotel. Beautiful room with great view. Delicious breakfast. Nice staff. Good suggestions. We were supplied with walking attributes for day trips in this great region. And we saw the Lights! Three nights!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjaakK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Myvatn hotels
7.1 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elda Guest House
Elda Guest House
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reynihlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reynihlid

Property: Hotel Reynihlid
Address: Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reynihlid 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reynihlid is the only **** hotel in Lake Myvatn region. We offer first class accommodation and professional service to our guests. Our restaurant, The Mill, is renowned for its quality of local food, wine assortment and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Reynihlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reynihlid Hotel Myvatn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing