We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stopover in a good hotel”
Review of Hotel Reynihlid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reynihlid
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Arrived quite late - it's a modern and attractive hotel and reception is always manned so no problems. Reception was friendly and helpful. Free wifi. Entertainment in the bar too but not audible in the rooms. Nice bathrobes were provided. Breakfast was good - continental and hot food for a nice change. The hotel had to rearrange our sleeping accommodation and, in effect, upgraded us significantly for free. Lovely view of the lake and ideally placed for visiting a fascinating bit of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bps-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 410 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent two nights here and found it everything we'd hoped for - easy to find, friendly, clean and quiet. After driving from Reykjavik, a walk by the lake was just what we needed and the north of the island definitely impressed us weatherwise as the sun shone all the time we were there. The hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of so many things to do in the area. The following morning we drove to Husavik and went out to see the puffins on a RIB (Reception phoned and booked for us) - great fun even though we loooked like lifeboat crew in our suits! From there we drove on round to the gorge at Asbyrgi, saw the thunderous falls at Dettifoss and stopped just outside Myvatn at Namafjall Hverir - very smelly but fascinating. We ate on both evenings at the grill next to the hotel - it gets very busy and you can't book but it's worth the wait. After another excellent breakfast we went all of a couple of kms up the road to the Nature Baths - being so close we were chatting in gorgeously watm water within half an hour of opening time, which meant we were almost the only people there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We only stayed one night, but loved it's comfort after exploring the abundance of hiking trails and diversity of landscapes only meters away. The room was clean and modern with a very nice view. Our dinner was wonderful - local lamb, smoked trout and hand made rye bread baked in geothermally heated "ovens" (really just holes in the lava fields). Don't miss the fully-stocked breakfast buffet from 7 to 10 am. There are only a few places to stay in the area, but this one looked the most "modern" and full-service. This hotel was a perfect treat after a long day of walking, climbing and mountain biking - for these activities visit "Hike and Bike" in town for bike and hike tours operated by a really nice woman named Eyrun (tell her Jonathan from NYC was a big fan).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Appletrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel is pretty and comfortable. The hotel's breakfast was the best on our 2-week ring road tour: a wide variety of fresh foods in an attractive dining room. We'd love to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abs1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed only one night on a 15 day trip around the country. But compared to all the other lodgings, this hotel was certainly the most comfortable and well equipped place we stayed. At last (after a week) we could have our laundry done! (no other guest house had provided this service).
A very warm welcome, a spacious room, instant Internet connection (wifi, free), nice view of the Myvatn lake; excellent dinner (yes, more expensive than in other places, but also more classy!) ; very good breakfast next morning. Alas, we did not have time to try the Sauna or to have a drink in the comfortable looking bar (there is so much to do around Myvatn lake). But if we come back to the area, we'll probably stay here again. As we had bought the whole tour in a package, we don't know the individual price of a room at this hotel, but we are pretty sure it is worth it.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor (e.g. 233) have a nice view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profdrdipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have just posted a review of Hotel Reykahlid where we are staying, but after eating tonight at Hotel Reynihlid, I can only say that I would prefer to stay there. The food and ambience in the restaurant was so much better than Reykahlid, for similar prices, and with a much better variety of choices. Hotel Reynihlid had much more character and attention to detail, and despite this hotel not having a lake view, given that you only sleep there, and there is so much to see in the area, my preference would be Hotel Reynihlid. They are about 200 metres from each other, so no difference in amenities in the town, which is minute anyway.
For example, there is duck and chicken on the menu which we have found very rare on our 10 day stay so far ( we are here for 3 weeks and getting sick of fish). Also the tea lights on the table are actually lit at Reynihild,which isn´t the case where we are staying.
Another small issue at Hotel Reykhalid, which for the price is unacceptable, (31,500ISK per night) is that the towels are not changed and soap, shampoo etc are not replenished and we were there for 3 nights. This is just cost cutting at its most stingy. Stay at Hotel Reynihlid if you want quality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our 2011 two week tour.

Room was spacious, clean and quite calm. Free wireless internet available although reception was rather minimal in the bedroom.

We didn't have supper in the restaurant, but it looked good albeit expensive. Breakfast buffet was very good.
Staff were friendly and helpful, so definitely a recommended stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Myvatn
7.1 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#1 of 1 in Skutustadahreppur
81 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#7 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
176 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Laugar
Hotel Laugar
#1 of 1 in Laugar
21 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reynihlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reynihlid

Address: Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Price Range: $100 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reynihlid 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reynihlid is the only **** hotel in Lake Myvatn region. We offer first class accommodation and professional service to our guests. Our restaurant, The Mill, is renowned for its quality of local food, wine assortment and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Reynihlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reynihlid Hotel Myvatn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing