We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goulash Amazing”

Vogafjos Cowshed Cafe
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lake Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Gigha, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Goulash Amazing”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Made the frankly breathtaking whilst simultaneously terrifying drive out to Myvatn Baths from Akureyri followed by a simply first class late lunch at the Vogafjos Cafe (known here as the Cowshed Cafe).

I actually cant recall our starter but that probably because it was totally eclipsed by the Goulash we had as our main. It was cold out for sure and despite the warmth of the baths at Myvatn we were in need of a good HOT meal (something peculiarly difficult to find in Iceland) and the Goulash didn't dissapoint. It was probably the tastiest single dish we had whilst in the country. It may not of had the panache and glitz presentation wise some of our other meals in Reykjavik had but delivered, singularly, on taste. Fantastic.

Add to this the quirky cowshed visable through the glass wall and probably the best (quality and cost wise) gift shop that we encountered on Iceland, I wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tealejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    227
    62
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Watch cows eat while you eat!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived a bit early (opens only at 11am), and were freezing outside initially. While we were peering through the windows, we saw the barn which held the cows, and were quite interested. A kindly man noticed our interest and opened the barn to let us in to play with the cows, and also to let us out of the cold!

The restaurant itself seems abit touristy, but the waitresses were all pleasant and friendly. The place itself is spacious, and there is a glass window separating the cows from the restaurants, giving a great view of the cows' behinds! There's also a milking machine, but that only happens at 5pm, and we didn't get a chance to see it.

The food itself is rather pricey, and we ordered a few dishes to share and to minimize the cost. The goulash soup is warm, tasty, and great for a chilly day. We also had some traditional Icelandic bread baked in the lava fields that was topped with smoked arctic char. I didn't really like it, but it may just have not been to my taste. We rounded off the meal with an Icelandic waffle, which was really good, but probably not worth the price. The portion was also small!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koochiehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Supper with cows”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good quality food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. You can choose to sit overlooking the lake or watching the cows!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not pass by this one!! (Easy to do with the small sign)”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Of all of the great meals we had in Iceland, this was the best. And, to share it with a barn full of cows (safely and cleanly behind glass) was the icing on the cake. If it is not crowded, ask to visit with the cows.

The food was great. The lamb was beyond excellent. The bread, baked in the ground using thermal energy for heat source, was delicious. One of us had fish, which was excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost missed it”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had read about Cowshed Cafe before going but it wasn't on the agenda. Then, as we were driving to Myvatn, there was a small sign that we flew right by. A quick U-turn and we were on our way in for lunch. You have to walk right past the cows who crane their necks out to give patrons a quick lick. The food is exceptional and service people cheerful, knowledgeable and full of good info.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogafjos Cowshed Cafe also viewed

Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Vogafjos Cowshed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing