We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Myvatn Nature Baths (Jardbodin vid Myvatn)
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Myvatn Nature Baths (Jardbodin vid Myvatn)
from $114.54
More Info
from $124.95
More Info
from $114.54
More Info
from $121.48
More Info
Reviews (2,350)
Filter reviews
2,350 results
Traveler rating
1,370
723
188
43
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,370
723
188
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue lagoon nature baths changing rooms steam room hot tub relaxing experience half the price warm water secret lagoon great alternative after a long day rent towels bring your own entrance fee bathing suits geothermal pool northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 2,350 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Good alternative to Blue L, for those who are doing the ring road can consider getting to Jarbodin. Massive savings from the price of touristy BlueL, less crowded hence cleaner pool, peaceful and more ‘spaces’ you have while in pool. Remember to use a further 15% discount coupon from the Island visitor booklet which you can take it from the airport in Reykjavík. Water is more blue then the other. In all these pools, ladies try not to get your hair wet with it, as it might damage hair quality and becomes ‘harder’ instead of a softer hair, if you know what I mean. Also it has a nicer backdrop of the surrounding mountains adding to the overall meaning of nature bath!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank LambieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We visited in October. Two large pools, one coolish and one warm, also a small hot tub. As with most facilities, a locker is provided. There are cubbies near the showers to stow one's towel, although most of the tourists seemed to bring them out and leave them on chairs/tables/etc - it is a very short walk into the bathhouse so it would be best to use the provided cubbies. We spent a nice hour here before a couple tour groups arrived. Sauna was spacious. There is a cafe but we did not visit it.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Based on great reviews from a tour book I was looking forward to a great experience of the natural baths of Iceland far way from the touristy Blue Lagoon. I did both and cannot recommend the baths at Myvatn. My first mistake was to go at night expecting a romantic evening with my wife and maybe enjoying the northern lights! Not quite! The place was dark with very poor lightning and lukewarm water. It was so dark we could not see each other in the pool. The second mistake was to pay to enter the place after the gave us a discount because the water was not as hot as usual. We saw a full parking lot and people going in so we wrongly assumed that it was ok. Finally, the "experience with the locals" was a big fiasco because the locals, who probably knew the routine on a cold night, were huddle in a smaller spa area with limited capacity and they would not move to accommodate another soul and I don't blame them! This place may be nice during the day and when the water temperature is right, just avoid going at night!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Foncho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

It is less crowded than the Blue Lagoon, but just as beautiful. Better pictures because less people are there. Blondes should follow the same hair care advice as they would at the Blue Lagoon. Wet your hair thoroughly so it soaks up as little silica-laden water as possible. Consider taking a reconstructive treatment like Olaplex with you for your trip, use a good clarifying shampoo, a DEEP conditioner without protein, and a leave in conditioner. Lovely experience. If you can only afford one mineral bath on your trip, I prefer this one. The scenery around it is breathtaking too. Staff are extremely kind and helpful!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Linsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

A very nice facility, just a little small for all the visitors. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the baths and I enjoyed the scenery in the restaurant. Food was good. the WIFI required a code from the checkout that was good for 30 minutes and the connection was good but very slow.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank wrlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews