We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for easy access to Lake Myvatn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Lake Myvatn B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for easy access to Lake Myvatn”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

so glad that i chose Dimmuborgir Guesthouse as the place to stay during trip to Lake Myvatn. the guesthouse is built right next to the lake shore (< 5 min walk), and we were extremely lucky to have spring-like weather when we were there, in contrast with the blizzard that happened one week before our arrival that closes all the roads.

my friend and i stayed in the double room with private bathroom. it's spotlessly clean, small, but perfectly functional. (think clean-cut ikea lines :)) there is also a common area with kitchen, where there are couches and dining table. if you want bigger space to move about and place suitcases, i suggest staying at the self-catered cozy cottages. but to be honest, space is not a concern for us since we are out most of the day enjoying the surrounding nature of myvatn and only return in the evening. rates for both types of accomodation is more than reasonable.

everybody who works there is nice : Bleu (the scottish receptionist), Helgi (the icelander owner's son) and the father (name unknown!!) :) the father invited us to his sheep farm during the evening feeding, located north of the Reykjahlid town. if you love dogs, the guesthouse also has 2 cute border collies, one 7 yrs old and the other 1+ yr old, which help guard the sheeps but otherwise stay at the guesthouse to greet visitors. Helgi is so nice to negotiate us a self-tailored super jeep tour with Siggi from Saga Travel (see my review there).

sunset by the lake is truly stunning, one of the best i have seen. the only regret i have is northern lights didnt happen during my stay there. otherwise i believe it will be a perfect unforgettable sight to behold seeing the aurora over lake myvatn at such close proximity.

one last advice i would have is that if you want to enjoy myvatn attractions fully, then stay at myvatn and not 1h away at akureyri. the commute is not worth it for repeated days of travel.

there is no doubt as to where i would be staying again if i return to myvatn area. highly recommend dimmuborgir guesthouse!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    79
    40
    13
    2
See reviews for
49
101
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you want to stay on the shores of Myvatn lake at the closest possible distance from the magic lava labyrinth of Dimmuborgir, this place is your best choice.
We stayed in the big guesthouse, buth there are also different size cottages (probably they are more expensive). The rooms in the guesthouse were clean and "handy", but really "essential", anyway good enough for a short stay of a few days.
The main building hosts the reception (staff is very friendly), and the breakfast hall with a spectacular view of the lake.
Fast and efficient laundry service is available at a reasonable price (if you are in the middle of your itinerary and you need it, as we did!).
No dinner facilities, but you can buy smoked trout and other food from the owners.
A great accomodation for a day's hike to Hverfjall followed by a relaxing visit to Mývatn Nature Baths

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Reached this guesthouse after a gruelling drive of 9 hours through icy roads. We had a 4 room cottage, with a nice lil shower room and cooking area(with basic ingredients), so everything looked cozy in the winter. Attractions near hear include the dettifoss, the krafla lava fields and the natural spa. But winter is definitely not the best time to visit these places, so be sure to check the weather forecast and road conditions. The family who owns this place was so sweet. They warned us of the snowstorm that was to come, as well as the receptionist who was super kind. They gave us loads of useful information, which eventually saved our lives.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited 01/08/2013 - 2 adults + 1 child aged 14 - We came here by chance and we were lucky enough to find vacancy - Small individual wooden cabins some grouped by 2 with shared showers therefore can be noisy (wood cracking) - Very comfortable beds - Roller blinds are not opaque = be prepared for an early wake-up call in the morning in summer - Excellent location away from the main road around the lake but with a gorgeous view - Truly excellent breakfast - Family run - Highly recommended indeed - Favourable quality/price ratio

Room Tip: Try to have an individual cabin otherwise you will get noise from your neighbours even if they are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very friendly host which gave us lot of useful information about attractions nearby.
Huts with heated floor, well equipped kitchen and perfect beds.
For us the only choice if we will visit this area in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FijObb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Modern clean wooden huts on the lake shore, The rooms are tiny with a shower, but very clean and functional. The cabins have a shared kitchen where you can cook. The location and scenery are unforgettable, very peaceful and beautiful. A good base for exploring the area. Very pleasant friendly staff and fantastic breakfast. Very reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yael20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We entered this hostel by chance. The hostel consist of a few wood hut. Each two huts connected together with a small kitchen and shears toilet and shower.
The huts are clean and basic, but not to small.
The view of the lake, especially from the first row of huts is beautiful.
The hostel staff is very nice.
Prices are very reasonable.
Recommended!

Room Tip: try to get a hut in the first row of huts, with view to thw lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Myvatn hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
348 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#7 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vogar Travel Service
Vogar Travel Service
#5 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimmuborgir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimmuborgir Guesthouse

Property: Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Address: Geiteyjastrond 1, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse offers cosy accommodation in the fascinating scenery on the shores of Lake Myvatn. Friendly countryside atmosphere and some of the best views found in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dimmuborgir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing