We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Lake Myvatn B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here during Nov 2012. The one positive that it is right by Lake Mývatn. The rooms in the cottages are basic and not very comfortable. The guesthouses advertizes that it offers wifi but note that the signal does not get to the rooms. The wifi signal in the common area is extremely week as to be unusable. Only in the reception and breakfast area can you actually get wifi.

The service standards are average in that the owners at least try. Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Comfortable stay in one of the cottages..
The management charge extra for linen and breakfast.. Had some issues paying in Euros, but other than that, had no problems.. Cottages are clean with a well equipped kitchenette and small dining table.. Porch was neat, but not of much use in the Icelandic autumn.. Well located close to all the myvatn sights..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriyankaDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The accommodations were fine. Our bedroom had a private bath and there is a nice common area to eat with a kitchen and outside grill. But the best is the breakfast. Smoked meats and fish, yogurt and much more. And the staff was amazingly attentive, constantly replenishing the food trays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fordwestvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice cottages with mini kitchens. Great smoked trout made on site.

No luxury, but all the basics covered. CLEAN!

Very friendly staff too.

If in the area again I would definitely stay again. Very close to some of the main sites and activities. Save some money on the baths by buying you pass at the front desk

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July. We chose the cottage with shared facilities for the porch and view over the lake. The setting is wonderful just by the lake, the breakfast veranda is great.
The cottage itself is basic. Good beds and clean, but very little else. The kitchen shared by two cottages is tiny and uninspiring, two hotplates and a fridge. Sharing a bathroom with strangers is a bit weird to me and this one also could do with some renovation, although I have certainly seen much worse. Going back I would not mind staying here again, but would probably try something else. Reykhalid is a nice little place and just by the lake, the hotels there would also have been OK I think.

Room Tip: I would choose the cottage with own bahroom, despite less nice view ;).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Egior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the cabin. It is clean and have nice view, but very small, no table, or closet to put things. The breakfast is very reach and tasty, and the staff friendly , you feel like at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

we spent 3 days in this nice place in a great location, by far the most interesting area in iceland we visited. the managers are very nice and perfect hosts. you can buy also their own smoked fish.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Myvatn hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
334 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#7 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
173 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimmuborgir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimmuborgir Guesthouse

Address: Geiteyjastrond 1, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Myvatn
Price Range: $131 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse offers cosy accommodation in the fascinating scenery on the shores of Lake Myvatn. Friendly countryside atmosphere and some of the best views found in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dimmuborgir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing