We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the variety of lava formations and gorgeous views”

Dimmuborgir Lava Formations
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,243.53*
and up
Private Tour: 'Game of Thrones' North of the Wall...
Ranked #12 of 19 things to do in Lake Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We stopped here with our kids [11 and 8] and had a really nice walk on the foot paths seeing all of the different lava formations. The kids loved it as much as we did. It is crowded in the parking area and in the shorter paths close to the visitors center. However, we had a nice visit. The walks were not very difficult and the crowds thinned out the further you walked. We also really liked the gift shop here. They had a nice collection of Icelandic souvenirs and provided tax free documents that were easy to handle at the airport to get our refund.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"yule lads"
in 21 reviews
"varying lengths"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 13 reviews
"blue trail"
in 3 reviews
"fall colors"
in 3 reviews
"paved pathway"
in 3 reviews
"walking trails"
in 8 reviews
"game of thrones"
in 14 reviews
"nice walk"
in 10 reviews
"small cafe"
in 5 reviews
"great photo ops"
in 3 reviews
"easy walk"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 4 reviews
"definitely worth a stop"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 5 reviews
"lake myvatn area"
in 6 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

The Dimmuborgir landscape is absolutely amazing, but we did not like the amount of visitors you come across, especially at the entrance. We do recommend the slightly more difficult path,, which will lead away from the crowd and will lead past some great outcrops - do wear sensible shoes though.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Very nice park.
I loved the shapes of the stones along the walkway.
I can say to those who have no extra time, just skip this park.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 45oferk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

It doesn't take long to circuit the whole area (maybe an hour). Well worth taking the longer path to the Kirkje formation. We went later in the evening and there were few other people. If you kept still, there was no sound at all from people, animals, bugs, wind, etc. Very eerie.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Nice walk around the lava formations. Good for a spot to stop and stretch the legs. It was busy with tourists, many of whom need to learn to move along after they have taken their photos.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JarMarJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimmuborgir Lava Formations also viewed

Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Dimmuborgir Lava Formations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing