We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Dimmuborgir Lava Formations
from $118.42
More Info
from $127.99
More Info
from $119.62
More Info
from $129.19
More Info
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
254
197
59
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
254
197
59
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yule lads blue trail gift shop fall colors varying lengths nice walk game of thrones easy walk small cafe great place to visit parking lot definitely worth a stop great stop lake myvatn area marked paths sunny day short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 526 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

The Dimmuborgir landscape is absolutely amazing, but we did not like the amount of visitors you come across, especially at the entrance. We do recommend the slightly more difficult path,, which will lead away from the crowd and will lead past some great outcrops - do wear sensible shoes though.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 726karinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Very nice park.
I loved the shapes of the stones along the walkway.
I can say to those who have no extra time, just skip this park.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 45oferk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

It doesn't take long to circuit the whole area (maybe an hour). Well worth taking the longer path to the Kirkje formation. We went later in the evening and there were few other people. If you kept still, there was no sound at all from people, animals, bugs, wind, etc. Very eerie.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Nice walk around the lava formations. Good for a spot to stop and stretch the legs. It was busy with tourists, many of whom need to learn to move along after they have taken their photos.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JarMarJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

The formations were nice but it was not very interesting. I like that you didn’t need to walk so far, but it was not that great that everyone says.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank aurorani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews