We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Meteora”
Review of Hotel Famissi Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Famissi Eden
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our rooms was clean and comfortable we stayed for three days and. Really enjoyed the swimming pool and the lovely place around it. The warm and helpful staff always ready to help us. The view from the balcony who was breath taken .

We hope to come back again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ydroxoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Famissi Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Not a bad hotel. Reasonably located not too far from the restaurants and cafes etc. Rooms were average but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Wi-fi provided free of charge. Service was good and, best of all after a very hot day out and about, the pool was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zimhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

nice staff, clean, good service and food. amazing view from balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The hotel was the first we saw as we drove in kalabaka. We were too tired and it was raining heavily so we took the room, even tho it was far more expensive than doubles in other Famissis hotels in Kalabaka (4 total!) on the web.

The room was poor. The two single beds were too narrow and very short, my feet were hanging out and I am only 6' 1".

The bathtub was lousy and looked worn out and 1960s vintage. The light on the balcony was not working. We even saw a cockroach (!!!!) as we were playing cards in the lobby of the 2nd floor.

The breakfast was poor. Their orange juice tasted like toxic chemicals, and they only had full fatr milk, and nothing warm, only cold ham and cheese, and only white bread, no whole wheat (there or anywhere else we stayed in Kalabaka or Litohoro)

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
3  Thank gatwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed here for one night, middle of summer heat wave.
The staff look like they are all suffering from depression.
Asked the bar for ice for the room and they gave me three cubes, when i asked for more they said no.
Very old air con system, we nearly died from heat exhaustion. and beds like sleeping on concrete. Awake all night and felt like death the next day.
Glad to get out of place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in July as part of a very small tour group (14 in all.) Our rooms were very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The air conditioning did not work very well, which made it difficult to sleep. Since we were on the 2nd floor, we were able to open the French doors and keep them open all night which made a big difference. Gorgeous views from our balcony. We had an excellent dinner buffet both nights we were there, but the continental breakfast buffet left a bit to be desired, at least for some members of our group. I was content with the great Greek yogurt, hardboiled eggs, and bread. Most members of our group walked to town easily, and the view of the rocks behind the hotel was wonderful. The hotel grounds also have 2 small chapels.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dswgr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Very unfriendly and deceitful reception, very rude for the usual Greek standards.

CONTROL FREAKS - NO HOT WATER & HEATING!
Freezing ice and snow conditions outside. Everytime we returned to our room, the heating and hot water was not working. Each time we asked reception to resolve, they fobbed us off to say manager was coming, 3 hours later, no manager appeared. Turns out that he is in another city, and we soon discover that the staff are controlling the heating and water main switch behind the desk.

Breakfast 2 times out of 3 was stale. They refused 4 times to warm up eggs. They keep breakfast in a cupboard and serve next day!

Hotel prides itself with satellite TV, our TV only had 1 working channel! We challenged the reception to resolve and tune in, and they said its a proble with the area due to bad weather. Another complete lie, as in town all bars, hotels and shops had full working TV's.

Positives:
Location, is good enough, 15 min walk from railway station and 7 mins walk from town centre. Good location to see Metero rocks. Town itself is mediocre, so nothing worth spending lots of money to get a central location.

Room, basic, but grows on you by the time you have unpacked and stayed a while! We had 3 nights here which is enough time to see all mountain area and monastries ... one of the finest landscapes in the world, a kind of mini Yosemite like natural park.

Public transport in area is very poor. Rent a car or taxi. 10 Euros for a return taxi trip to the best highest panaromic view of Metero mountains close to the James Bond 'For Your Eyes Only' filmed monastry.

Best place for a chicken gyro in town is at 'Chicken Time' on main shopping street.

Simon & Sarah from London
(aka 007 & Good Night)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Strutt_aroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Divani Meteora Hotel
Divani Meteora Hotel
#6 of 34 in Kalambaka
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#17 of 34 in Kalambaka
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#5 of 34 in Kalambaka
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Famissi Hotel
Famissi Hotel
#28 of 34 in Kalambaka
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#9 of 34 in Kalambaka
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Famissi Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Famissi Eden

Address: Koumaries str, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range: $69 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Famissi Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the Hotel Famissi Eden at the entrance of the town of Kalampaka, which is situated below the magnificent, eternal rocks of Meteora.. It combines perfectly the unique beauty of the place with the traditional architecture and the modern accommodation making your holiday a very beautiful memory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Famissi Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famissi Eden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing